qbasic won't start

If you have questions about any aspect of QBasic programming, or would like to help fellow programmers solve their problems, check out this board!

Moderators: Pete, Mods

Post Reply
CharlieWorton
Newbie
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2018 10:03 am

qbasic won't start

Post by CharlieWorton » Thu Nov 08, 2018 10:26 am

Hi - brand new user to qbasic, not having any success. At all.

When I run Qbasic, it opens with a long program - I think it's called snakes, or something. Instructions say to press Alt/F5 to run it; when I do, I get nothing. When I click on the compile/run button in the upper left, the program runs, and presents me with an opening screen; it invites me to press any key to start. Well, that doesn't work; no key moves me beyond that screen. The only way to get out of that screen is to shut the program down, and restart qbasic. It appears that qbasic isn't recognizing my wireless logitech keyboard, although it sees the companion mouse. The keyboard works for every other app - I'm using it to type this.

So, I deleted the program listing, and gave it something simple:
Print "hello world" (Note that the text editor recognized my keyboard)
...and, I got Error at 1:1: Call to undefined sub "print"
So I tried something even simpler:
Rem This is a test
...and, I got a pile of at least 11 pretty cryptic error messages. They filled the screen from top to bottom, I couldn't find a way to scroll the screen, and I couldn't highlight and copy the text to paste it here.

Man. The whole reason I chose BASIC was that I wanted a language I had some familiarity with. But this sure isn't QBasic from the DOS days.

So: I'd like to know how I can start QBasic without that stupidly long snakes program. Just a blank text screen.
And, I guess that if I can't make really simple commands like Rem and Print work, I'm gonna need a tutorial. Kwap. Any suggestions?

Thanks - Charlie

CharlieWorton
Newbie
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2018 10:03 am

Re: qbasic won't start

Post by CharlieWorton » Thu Nov 08, 2018 10:39 am

Addendum: clicking on the screen apparently activates the program, and the keyboard works. The program is called 'nibbles'. And pressing Alt f x doesn't stop the program; it's necessary to quit qbasic and restart. >Charlie

User avatar
burger2227
Veteran
Posts: 2257
Joined: Mon Aug 21, 2006 12:40 am
Location: Pittsburgh, PA

Re: qbasic won't start

Post by burger2227 » Mon Nov 12, 2018 10:42 am

What are you running it on?

What is the QB EXE file name?
Please acknowledge and thank members who answer your questions!
QB64 is a FREE QBasic compiler for WIN, MAC(OSX) and LINUX : https://www.qb64.org/forum/index.php
Get my Q-Basics demonstrator: https://www.dropbox.com/s/fdmgp91d6h8ps ... s.zip?dl=0

Post Reply