making an rpg using gif

If you have questions about any aspect of QBasic programming, or would like to help fellow programmers solve their problems, check out this board!

Moderators: Pete, Mods

magickat

making an rpg using gif

Post by magickat »

I'm stuck. I'm trying to use Tek's Tile Engine as my skeleton for a tile game I'm writing but I want to use gif graphics (I'm a crappy artist when it comes to making tiles outside of grass and dirt and simple trees). I also looked at code from a program called Ninja (a simple rpg that featured a ninja) that used gif graphics, but trying to combine the two is making my hair fall out. Is there a way I can do this or I have to write entirely new code? I can't think straight anymore. This has been giving me grief all week!! :x :x :x :x
lurah-
Veteran

Post by lurah- »

Well, at this point it would probably be best choice to make your own code.
Combining two different programs that you dont know like your pockets is a _hard way_.

Neither of these programs you mentioned arent very familiar to me so probably some one disagrees totally :lol:
Mitth'raw'nuruodo
Veteran

Post by Mitth'raw'nuruodo »

ya, you should never copy + paste.

Get ideas from other people's code then make your own to suite your needs.

As for making .gifs....is that your question? You don't have the skills to do it? Well there is a great tut on it on this site....forgot where it is, but just look for it. You'll find it.
"But...It was so beutifully done"
Pete
Site Admin

Post by Pete »

The best way to get around this problem is to use the GIF loader program you already have and load up your GIF images, and then once they're loaded, save them as regular BSAVE files. (You'll probably also have to save a palette file too so the colors don't get screwed up.)

Then when you load them into your RPG tile engine program, you can load normal BSAVEs without having to bother with GIFs -- which will take up more memory to load anyway.
{Nathan}
Veteran