Page 1 of 1

Petition to Microsoft

Posted: Sun Jan 16, 2005 6:32 pm
by QB News
<p align="right"><b><font size=3>January 16, 2005</font></b></p>

<p><font size=3><b>Petition to Microsoft</b></font></p>
<p><font size=3>Sign: <a href="http://forum.qbasicnews.com/viewtopic.p ... </font></p>
<p>Everybody, just read this! Go to http://forum.qbasicnews.com/viewtopic.p ... 04&start=0 and sign!!!

<br>

<p align="right"><font size="3"><b>Submitted by

<a href="mailto:nathant93@gmail.com">Nathan</a>

</b></font>
</p>

Posted: Mon Jan 24, 2005 7:39 am
by Mitth'raw'nuruodo
Ok....I read it and have a couple questions....nothing much just questions the main point of the petition... :wink:
  1. So why does this petition exsist? I thought Microsoft released QB4.5 as freeware a long time ago.
  2. Also it said that we enjoyed some of the great products form Microsoft and amoung those was its Visual C++, while we are along that line: I say take that out and even go as far to make another petition to Microsoft to ask them to publicaly anounce that 7.0-8.0 versions of Microsoft Visual C++ were mistakes, and to ask them NEVER to make a C++ version like them again. They were that bad.
Well that's all.

Posted: Mon Jan 24, 2005 10:49 am
by MystikShadows
To answer your first Item. Yes the source to QBasic 1.1 were out there, but now by M$'s doing. I believe it some how leaked out so to speak.

Well right now I use studio 6.0 so I don't have your VC++ 7 AND 8 TOURMENTS ;-).....

Posted: Mon Jan 24, 2005 12:42 pm
by Mitth'raw'nuruodo
Ya your lucky you never had to go from Mirosoft's Visual C++ 6.0 to 7.0 or 8.0 because ITS IRITATING(I want to keep this forum rated E).

The Libraries are all screwed with, the key words are also messed up, THERE'S NO RANDOM COMMAND!!!! You have to put STD:: before every cout, cin, etc.

If you ask me I think I put this as mildly as possible.

Posted: Mon Jan 24, 2005 1:32 pm
by MystikShadows
You can always use the following


// this line will allow you to not have to put std infront of everything.
using namespace std;

int main(int argc, char* argv[])
{
cout << "This will show like it is supposed to.";
}

Posted: Mon Jan 24, 2005 6:50 pm
by Mitth'raw'nuruodo
Ummm...hello? Yes, You have to do BOTH in order for it to work, but still my aurgument stands!

What's with the parameters in the int main () statment?

Posted: Mon Jan 24, 2005 8:45 pm
by MystikShadows
The parameters are there to accept command line parameters

int main(int argc, char* argv[])

argc is the number of passed command line parameters

argv[] is an array of all the passed command line parameters.

Youd typically loop those to see all that was passed to the application

Code: Select all

for(i=0; i<=argc; i++)
{
    if(argv[i] == "/help") then
      // code to dislplay help screen with valid command line parameters
}
see where I use argc and argv[] ? I didn't test this short example, it's just to give you an idea of where and how it might be used.

the if would say if the user typed progname.exe /help and press enter then it would go to display the help screen.

Posted: Mon Jan 24, 2005 8:53 pm
by Mitth'raw'nuruodo
ok, got it, thanks for the explain.

Posted: Mon Jan 24, 2005 9:02 pm
by MystikShadows
You're very welcome :-).