Compiling a chain function...

If you have questions about any aspect of QBasic programming, or would like to help fellow programmers solve their problems, check out this board!

Moderators: Pete, Mods

Post Reply
User avatar
N1FTY V1RU$
Newbie
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Oct 23, 2004 5:34 am

Compiling a chain function...

Post by N1FTY V1RU$ »

Hello everybody !

I've just a little question, but you must first excuse me for asking so stupid things, but i've found no answer to this question in QB help...

Is CHAIN will work with executables when this function is compiled into another executable ?

Thanks in advance... :?:
--------------------------
...:: N1FTY V1RU$ ::...
--------------------------
User avatar
{Nathan}
Veteran
Posts: 1169
Joined: Thu Aug 19, 2004 6:08 pm
Location: The wetlands of central Ohio, USA
Contact:

Post by {Nathan} »

If it cannot, here is a solution. Right before you compile, change the chain to a shell "filename.exe" and compile the program you chain to too. NOTE: This is untested but it really should work. I don't know why it wouldn't.
Image
Rattrapmax6
Veteran
Posts: 1055
Joined: Sun Jan 02, 2005 2:11 pm
Location: At my computer
Contact:

Post by Rattrapmax6 »

Sorry 4 repling on a 3 month old topic, but CHAIN funtions like this. If you are working on a .BAS file, it will only open other .BAS file. After you compile though, it will open .EXE files.

Just remember to switch the File.BAS to File.EXE and compile the BAS File it was opening. :wink: This might not be what you on, but its how I got it to work, or found it worked.
-Kevin (aka:Rattra)
(x.t.r.GRAPHICS)
Mitth'raw'nuruodo

Post by Mitth'raw'nuruodo »

Hi,
I would also like to add that there are no stupid
questions so don't be afraid to ask.
...:idea:...Wait! What am I Typing!?? :shock:
*Mit's Conscious: What about if they ask what side of an equation
the vaiable that gets the values goes on?

Ok, so there are a few stupid questions,
but those are rare cases.... :D .

-Mit
Z!re
Veteran
Posts: 887
Joined: Wed Aug 04, 2004 11:15 am

Post by Z!re »

Code: Select all

CLS
a = 100
IF (a = -1) = ((2 - 3) < 0) >= -a THEN
 PRINT "Fancy!"
END IF
Returns true for any positive value, including 0

Anyone care to figure it out? :P
It's actually quite simple, just looks insane=)
I have left this dump.
Post Reply