IDE?

If you have questions about any aspect of QBasic programming, or would like to help fellow programmers solve their problems, check out this board!

Moderators: Pete, Mods

Post Reply
qbtim
Newbie
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Sep 26, 2005 8:24 pm

IDE?

Post by qbtim »

What is an IDE?
User avatar
{Nathan}
Veteran
Posts: 1169
Joined: Thu Aug 19, 2004 6:08 pm
Location: The wetlands of central Ohio, USA
Contact:

Post by {Nathan} »

Inetegraded Devolopment System

Google is your friend. So is dictionary.com. majorgeeks.com also has a great computer terms dictitonary.
Image
moneo
Veteran
Posts: 451
Joined: Tue Jun 28, 2005 7:00 pm
Location: Mexico City, Mexico

Re: IDE?

Post by moneo »

qbtim wrote:What is an IDE?
IDE means Integrated Development Environment.
In addition to many other features, it is basically a special purpose editor in which you write source code for a program. This editor is designed for the particular language that you are writing in, like QBasic, which enables it to give information and warnings about the code as you write it, and also provides standard formatting of the code.

In the case of QBasic, the IDE also enables you to run your code "right now". It does this by running your code via an interpretive compiler. This is a quick way to test your program while you're writing it.

I'm not an expert on the QBasic IDE because I only used it a few times years ago. Perhaps some experienced members could offer you some more information.

Ok, guys, give this new member some better information.
*****
If you are ahead of me, lead.
If you are behind me, follow.
If you are not doing anything,
Get out of the way.
User avatar
{Nathan}
Veteran
Posts: 1169
Joined: Thu Aug 19, 2004 6:08 pm
Location: The wetlands of central Ohio, USA
Contact:

Post by {Nathan} »

Well, QBASIC has a very noobie-friendly IDE. It has simple Make .EXE, Run, Continue, and ect options. All IDEs call an exterour compiler program (in Qb, I think it is BRUN45.exe. The only exeption I have EVER seen is QB1.1. I am mostly talking about QB 4.5 which I always get from QBNZ.com.

Anyways, IDE is basically what you program in. It can auto-indent your code, syntax check it, and color-code it. The possibilities are limitless.

Hmm... now that I think about it, I just realized that NO ONE has EVER made an exterior IDE for QB...
Image
Z!re
Veteran
Posts: 887
Joined: Wed Aug 04, 2004 11:15 am

Post by Z!re »

Nathan1993 wrote:in Qb, I think it is BRUN45.exe.
It's BC for QB and BCX for PDS, iirc
I have left this dump.
moneo
Veteran
Posts: 451
Joined: Tue Jun 28, 2005 7:00 pm
Location: Mexico City, Mexico

Post by moneo »

Nathan1993,

Don't take offense to what I have to say.
I know you're anxious to help, but please be a little more careful with the information that you provide, especially to new members. Many times, in your eagerness, you tend to be a mountain of misinformation.
*****
If you are ahead of me, lead.
If you are behind me, follow.
If you are not doing anything,
Get out of the way.
Nodtveidt
Veteran
Posts: 826
Joined: Sun Jul 25, 2004 4:24 am
Location: Quebradillas, PR
Contact:

Post by Nodtveidt »

Nathan1993 wrote:Hmm... now that I think about it, I just realized that NO ONE has EVER made an exterior IDE for QB...
You obviously missed the IDE craze of 2000 then...
User avatar
{Nathan}
Veteran
Posts: 1169
Joined: Thu Aug 19, 2004 6:08 pm
Location: The wetlands of central Ohio, USA
Contact:

Post by {Nathan} »

Nekrophidius wrote:
Nathan1993 wrote:Hmm... now that I think about it, I just realized that NO ONE has EVER made an exterior IDE for QB...
You obviously missed the IDE craze of 2000 then...
IDE craze eh? Never heard of it... any files? Links? SOMETHING???
Image
Z!re
Veteran
Posts: 887
Joined: Wed Aug 04, 2004 11:15 am

Post by Z!re »

QBMed comes to mind..

You barely knew how to read and write back in 2000, so it makes sense you missed it :P
I have left this dump.
m2j

Post by m2j »

yeah, even I'M making a Qbide now.

m2j
MystikShadows
Veteran
Posts: 703
Joined: Sun Nov 14, 2004 7:36 am
Contact:

Post by MystikShadows »

m2j can you tell us more about that IDE? :-) I'm curious :-)
When God created light, so too was born, the first Shadow!

MystikShadows

Need hosting? http://www.jc-hosting.net

Interested in Text & ASCII development? Look no further!
http://www.ascii-world.com
User avatar
{Nathan}
Veteran
Posts: 1169
Joined: Thu Aug 19, 2004 6:08 pm
Location: The wetlands of central Ohio, USA
Contact:

Post by {Nathan} »

Z!re wrote:QBMed comes to mind..

You barely knew how to read and write back in 2000, so it makes sense you missed it :P
Hell, in 2000, I didn't even know what an icon was... or a tab, or a port. Wait... I mean in 2OOO.
Image
Guest
Veteran
Posts: 128
Joined: Sun Aug 14, 2005 8:33 pm
Location: Forest Lake, MN
Contact:

Post by Guest »

Some IDEs you might want to consider(for windows):

-Dev C++ 4.9.9.2

-Dev Pascal 1.9.2 with freepascal

Both of these can be obtained at http://www.bloodshed.net/

-FreeBASIC IDE .42(?) with freebasic

This can be obtained at http://www.fbide.sourceforge.net/ (not sure)

-WinAsm Studio(get MASM32 before getting winasm)

This can be obtained at http://www.winasm.net/

I hope you aren't using a 56k modem :lol: , Winasm has a very weird downloading system(You download it before the 'Are you sure' prompt comes up), and Dev Series installers are a little big for 56ks to handle...
User avatar
{Nathan}
Veteran
Posts: 1169
Joined: Thu Aug 19, 2004 6:08 pm
Location: The wetlands of central Ohio, USA
Contact:

Post by {Nathan} »

Bill Gates wrote:Some IDEs you might want to consider(for windows):

-Dev C++ 4.9.9.2

-Dev Pascal 1.9.2 with freepascal

Both of these can be obtained at http://www.bloodshed.net/

-FreeBASIC IDE .42(?) with freebasic

This can be obtained at http://www.fbide.sourceforge.net/ (not sure)

-WinAsm Studio(get MASM32 before getting winasm)

This can be obtained at http://www.winasm.net/

I hope you aren't using a 56k modem :lol: , Winasm has a very weird downloading system(You download it before the 'Are you sure' prompt comes up), and Dev Series installers are a little big for 56ks to handle...
i upgraded from 56k a long time ago. Also, i ment for qb
Image
Guest
Veteran
Posts: 128
Joined: Sun Aug 14, 2005 8:33 pm
Location: Forest Lake, MN
Contact:

Post by Guest »

Just some for consideration...I don't actually know any ones for Qb, I use Fb now and when I used Qbasic, I didn't really bother getting another IDE for BC...I do a little more DirectX9b and windows API programming than DOS programming now...
User avatar
{Nathan}
Veteran
Posts: 1169
Joined: Thu Aug 19, 2004 6:08 pm
Location: The wetlands of central Ohio, USA
Contact:

Post by {Nathan} »

Bill Gates wrote:Just some for consideration...I don't actually know any ones for Qb, I use Fb now and when I used Qbasic, I didn't really bother getting another IDE for BC...I do a little more DirectX9b and windows API programming than DOS programming now...
I use FB for programs, I use the sweetness of QB when I wanna have fun.
Image
moneo
Veteran
Posts: 451
Joined: Tue Jun 28, 2005 7:00 pm
Location: Mexico City, Mexico

Post by moneo »

Nathan1993 wrote:....
I use FB for programs, I use the sweetness of QB when I wanna have fun.
Very catchy line, Nathan, you should copyright it. :wink:

*****
Guest

Post by Guest »

m2j can you tell us more about that IDE? I'm curious
Mystic:

I realised I've never written one before, and I hate all the FBIDE's that are around, so I downloaded Visual Basic 1 (Yes, the windows 3.0 version) and started fooling around with it. Obviously, as it's my first attempt to do anything in windows proporly it is nothing special, but it's a learning process I'm enjoying.

Currently it handles subs/functions in seporate windows like QB, can copy and paste (That was a big part), FIND/REPLACE almost work, I still haven't made the tabstop variable, or implimented load/save dialog boxes. At the moment it just passes everything to Qb1.1 to be interpretted, but I'll be making it non compiler specific in the end (so It'll be for FB mostly, if anyone else uses it), but as ?'m building it for QB1.1 I'm putting in '$INCLUDE and COMMAND$ emulation...

So, yeah, I'm re-inventing the wheel and all that, but as I said, it's more a learning project then a break-new-boundaries project...

And VB1 is fork fun to use.

matt

PS: this was all ment to be a secret by the way...
User avatar
{Nathan}
Veteran
Posts: 1169
Joined: Thu Aug 19, 2004 6:08 pm
Location: The wetlands of central Ohio, USA
Contact:

Post by {Nathan} »

You know, I have access to VB6 and .net, but my laptop sucks to much for that... but I could make an IDE in VB6... mabye after the 1 key challenge.
Image
Post Reply