Chat bot

If you have questions about any aspect of QBasic programming, or would like to help fellow programmers solve their problems, check out this board!

Moderators: Pete, Mods

Post Reply
Zeerus
Coder
Posts: 31
Joined: Thu Jun 16, 2005 1:10 pm
Location: Central Florida
Contact:

Chat bot

Post by Zeerus »

I just started programming with QBasic monday, and since then I've been trying to make a chat bot that users on my website can download and chat with (hence the name)

so far all I know how to do is make very simple chats with no variation using PRINT and INPUT commands. Can anybody direct me to a sample chatbot that has better features such as AI responses based on what the user says? I tried to use the one on the main website here, Jim, but there were a few problems that I didn't know how to debug, and the other chat bot available for download wouldn't work at all.
Image
User avatar
Pete
Site Admin
Posts: 887
Joined: Sun Dec 07, 2003 9:10 pm
Location: Candor, NY
Contact:

Post by Pete »

The best one I've seen in QB is Roland:
http://members.tripod.com/father-time/roland.html

There's also a pretty good one called "Eliza" on this site. You can find it in the Reviews section.
Zeerus
Coder
Posts: 31
Joined: Thu Jun 16, 2005 1:10 pm
Location: Central Florida
Contact:

Post by Zeerus »

thanks

I found Eliza shortly after posting this topic, and have been working with it quite frequently. the only thing I wish I could do is customize the startup screens.

btw, how do I turn the final chatbot from a .bas file to an exe program? I doubt the people on my forums will download a .bas reader just to use the bot.
Image
MystikShadows
Veteran
Posts: 703
Joined: Sun Nov 14, 2004 7:36 am
Contact:

Post by MystikShadows »

HI gain Zeerus, you'll need QUickBasic compiler (version 4.5 would be best) to compile your bas into an exe. You can get it at:

http://www.ojodepez-fanzine.net/network/qbdl/

Hope this helps.
When God created light, so too was born, the first Shadow!

MystikShadows

Need hosting? http://www.jc-hosting.net

Interested in Text & ASCII development? Look no further!
http://www.ascii-world.com
User avatar
Pete
Site Admin
Posts: 887
Joined: Sun Dec 07, 2003 9:10 pm
Location: Candor, NY
Contact:

Post by Pete »

Yeah, though I'd say before you get too far into QB coding you should check out FreeBasic. It's QB plus all your wildest dreams come true.
Zeerus
Coder
Posts: 31
Joined: Thu Jun 16, 2005 1:10 pm
Location: Central Florida
Contact:

Post by Zeerus »

the only reason I'm using QBasic is because it's required for a computer programming course I'm taking in school. Do all of the QBasic commands work in FreeBasic? If so, I'll probably start using that in my free time.
Image
User avatar
Pete
Site Admin
Posts: 887
Joined: Sun Dec 07, 2003 9:10 pm
Location: Candor, NY
Contact:

Post by Pete »

It's about 99% QB compatible. You will have no problem switching over.
MystikShadows
Veteran
Posts: 703
Joined: Sun Nov 14, 2004 7:36 am
Contact:

Post by MystikShadows »

Pete wrote:Yeah, though I'd say before you get too far into QB coding you should check out FreeBasic. It's QB plus all your wildest dreams come true.
Obviously, you have no clue what my wildest dreams look like....ROFLMAO
When God created light, so too was born, the first Shadow!

MystikShadows

Need hosting? http://www.jc-hosting.net

Interested in Text & ASCII development? Look no further!
http://www.ascii-world.com
Zeerus
Coder
Posts: 31
Joined: Thu Jun 16, 2005 1:10 pm
Location: Central Florida
Contact:

Post by Zeerus »

ditto.
hopefully I can learn a lot around here

Pete, I just noticed I'm member 150. Do I get a prize or anything? :D
Image
Post Reply