SpaceMerc....Next update....again? lol

Announce and discuss the progress of your various programming-related projects...programs, games, websites, tutorials, libraries...anything!

Moderators: Pete, Mods

Post Reply
User avatar
Mitth'raw'nuruodo
Veteran
Posts: 839
Joined: Sat Jan 22, 2005 11:04 am
Location: Eastern Coast of US
Contact:

SpaceMerc....Next update....again? lol

Post by Mitth'raw'nuruodo »

Well I've been busy again....Be prepared for this update!

I've put my 8If collision detecting routine in, and now you can shoot the enemies and be shot! Woot!

Also you can crash into them as well.

Doesn't anyone know sfx? How to do them?

Well, tell me what you think. Next update will be powerups.

SpaceMerc
"But...It was so beutifully done"
Rattrapmax6
Veteran
Posts: 1055
Joined: Sun Jan 02, 2005 2:11 pm
Location: At my computer
Contact:

Post by Rattrapmax6 »

Cool, yep.. You still need to look into this right move prob...

SFX:

Code: Select all

'Before main loop...
'Set your octave to what ever
'you like...
PLAY "MB T255 L16 O3" 

DO

IF bx = 1 THEN PLAY "ABDBABD": CALL Fire
IF bx = 1 THEN PLAY "DBDBDBD": CALL Missle

LOOP
Change it around to what you want, just don't change:

"MB T255 L16" <- those make it play in the BG right... :wink:
-Kevin (aka:Rattra)
(x.t.r.GRAPHICS)
User avatar
Mitth'raw'nuruodo
Veteran
Posts: 839
Joined: Sat Jan 22, 2005 11:04 am
Location: Eastern Coast of US
Contact:

Post by Mitth'raw'nuruodo »

Nope.

MB does. T255 sets the Tempo (This is a really fast one), L16 sets the length of the Note (1/16 of a whole note is what it is here, we call it a 16th note), O3 sets the octave (the middle octave here).

I know all that stuff but I ment How do I make it sound like fire and being hit, explosion sounds etc? That stuff sounds like when I play on the piano...speaking of which...I feel like doing it right now, excuse me. :D
"But...It was so beutifully done"
Rattrapmax6
Veteran
Posts: 1055
Joined: Sun Jan 02, 2005 2:11 pm
Location: At my computer
Contact:

Post by Rattrapmax6 »

:) Before you correct me, I wrote a system for the play statment that includes a detialed help file, I probaly can inform you on more...

But, MB takes time to activate, you need to set it to "T255" and "L16" to get it to work without pausing the game... other wise it will cause it to stand still while the sound plays...

Take BA-SIC MU-SIC II, start it, start your line off with:

MB T255 L16

Then store it (play once, then hit "Add to",.. this will move it to current, so now all you have to do is hit "Undo" to erase uwanted SFX and not have to reput "MB T255 L16" every time.. :wink: ) and insert notes and experement tell you find one you like, save as TXT, and your all set...

Just remember to remove the "MB T255 L16" from your note, and place it before the Main LOOP... :wink:
-Kevin (aka:Rattra)
(x.t.r.GRAPHICS)
User avatar
Mitth'raw'nuruodo
Veteran
Posts: 839
Joined: Sat Jan 22, 2005 11:04 am
Location: Eastern Coast of US
Contact:

Post by Mitth'raw'nuruodo »

Ummm...I don't want it to play music!
I want it to play sound effects!

You try to make an explosion sound effect with notes.... :P I mean a good one.
"But...It was so beutifully done"
Rattrapmax6
Veteran
Posts: 1055
Joined: Sun Jan 02, 2005 2:11 pm
Location: At my computer
Contact:

Post by Rattrapmax6 »

:D You can write SFX with BM2,... its the exact same as the PLAY statment, have you ever used it? its looks like this:

Key:

(Basicaly, quick guide of all functions and commands are here)

Current:
(Stored notes)
PLAY:
(Type notes here, w or w/o "", either way it works)

After you press Enter:

CLS
Notes are displayed while they play...

Then you go to my favorite menu design (BM2(Fire faded scrolling menu)) that gives you all your editing opps... simple, you can make SFX with it, and if you don't want to, I'll crank it up, and try my hand at it... :wink:
-Kevin (aka:Rattra)
(x.t.r.GRAPHICS)
User avatar
Mitth'raw'nuruodo
Veteran
Posts: 839
Joined: Sat Jan 22, 2005 11:04 am
Location: Eastern Coast of US
Contact:

Post by Mitth'raw'nuruodo »

How about when I'm done my core I'll give you the source, and you can put some SFX in. I'll tell you where they will need to go. So how 'bout it? It could be like another one of those trans-online QB Projects :D .

I'm musically challenged when it come to computers, but you don't seem to me :D .

Yes I did look at BASIC MUSIC 2, it wouldn't run on my computer. :cry:
"But...It was so beutifully done"
Rattrapmax6
Veteran
Posts: 1055
Joined: Sun Jan 02, 2005 2:11 pm
Location: At my computer
Contact:

Post by Rattrapmax6 »

:D Ah ha!!! A common example why we have FB, pitty there is no PLAY statment, only saying that since my audio is fried...

Yeah, can do,.. still, you've sparked intrest, I must go play with BM2!!! :D Heh, did you ever get far enough to here the intro music? that was sweet.. :wink:
-Kevin (aka:Rattra)
(x.t.r.GRAPHICS)
User avatar
Mitth'raw'nuruodo
Veteran
Posts: 839
Joined: Sat Jan 22, 2005 11:04 am
Location: Eastern Coast of US
Contact:

Post by Mitth'raw'nuruodo »

Ya I did see your logo, and the intro music. The second time, I just didn't watch it (I read the ReadMe lol).

Hey well, its pay back :D . You've struck my interest to play piano this afternoon :lol: .

Just don't get bored with it before I give you the source. :wink:

BTW its hear not here. :D Do I need to give you another link to Dictionary.com? lol :lol: jk
"But...It was so beutifully done"
Rattrapmax6
Veteran
Posts: 1055
Joined: Sun Jan 02, 2005 2:11 pm
Location: At my computer
Contact:

Post by Rattrapmax6 »

:) Heh, you got the intro, but nothing else, hmm, I was starting to think you for got to load up StartUp.exe to get it to go,... oh well... What was the error? :)

Here, hear, I use "here" more so my fingers tend to it more, and even more when I type really fast... heh.. :wink:

You can play the piano and not PLAY? heh, I can't play the piano and can play PLAY, now isn't that funny.... :lol: tho I never tryied, got a harmonica, but I still do PLAY betta.. :mrgreen:
-Kevin (aka:Rattra)
(x.t.r.GRAPHICS)
User avatar
Mitth'raw'nuruodo
Veteran
Posts: 839
Joined: Sat Jan 22, 2005 11:04 am
Location: Eastern Coast of US
Contact:

Post by Mitth'raw'nuruodo »

Hey get a keyboard, and you can experiment easiler than doing PLAY and see what that sounds like :D
"But...It was so beutifully done"
Rattrapmax6
Veteran
Posts: 1055
Joined: Sun Jan 02, 2005 2:11 pm
Location: At my computer
Contact:

Post by Rattrapmax6 »

:) Eh, a keyboard? you mean a electronic piano or something? hmm, no, I find PLAY better..
-Kevin (aka:Rattra)
(x.t.r.GRAPHICS)
User avatar
Mitth'raw'nuruodo
Veteran
Posts: 839
Joined: Sat Jan 22, 2005 11:04 am
Location: Eastern Coast of US
Contact:

Post by Mitth'raw'nuruodo »

No. I ment the one your typing on now.... :shock: no wait OF course a piano keyboard!!! :P

Ok. Whatever suits you. :D
"But...It was so beutifully done"
Post Reply