Creating QB64 .EXE files

If you have questions about any aspect of QBasic programming, or would like to help fellow programmers solve their problems, check out this board!

Moderators: Pete, Mods

Post Reply
blv99
Newbie
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Dec 30, 2013 4:29 pm

Creating QB64 .EXE files

Post by blv99 » Tue Jan 27, 2015 6:21 pm

Suddenly, the QB64 software that I have been using on my laptop under Windows 8.1 no longer creates .EXE application files. I hit the "RUN" and "Make EXE Only" commands as usual, but the EXE file is nowhere to be seen. Any suggestions/comments, please?

User avatar
burger2227
Veteran
Posts: 2316
Joined: Mon Aug 21, 2006 12:40 am
Location: Pittsburgh, PA

Re: Creating QB64 .EXE files

Post by burger2227 » Tue Jan 27, 2015 9:26 pm

Which version are you using? Look in the Help\About menu. SDL is .954 GL has some experimental versions.

Is there any particular code that won't work?

Try re-installing QB64.
Please acknowledge and thank members who answer your questions!
QB64 is a FREE QBasic compiler for WIN, MAC(OSX) and LINUX : https://www.qb64.org/forum/index.php
Get my Q-Basics demonstrator: https://www.dropbox.com/s/fdmgp91d6h8ps ... s.zip?dl=0

User avatar
burger2227
Veteran
Posts: 2316
Joined: Mon Aug 21, 2006 12:40 am
Location: Pittsburgh, PA

Re: Creating QB64 .EXE files

Post by burger2227 » Thu Jan 29, 2015 9:53 am

If you are having problems posting here, go to your name in top right corner of forum and left click name and Logout from menu.

When logging back in, check the Remember Me box too! If you don't you may be kicked off of the forum.
Please acknowledge and thank members who answer your questions!
QB64 is a FREE QBasic compiler for WIN, MAC(OSX) and LINUX : https://www.qb64.org/forum/index.php
Get my Q-Basics demonstrator: https://www.dropbox.com/s/fdmgp91d6h8ps ... s.zip?dl=0

blv99
Newbie
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Dec 30, 2013 4:29 pm

Re: Creating QB64 .EXE files

Post by blv99 » Thu Jan 29, 2015 2:02 pm

I'm using QB64 version 0.954. None of the codes I was able to create EXE files for before will do the same now. Can run them, but not create EXE. Did reload QB64 many times, to no avail. Maybe I should use newer SDL files, if I can download them from somewhere? Thx. for your input, burger2227. Had been trying to post this reply many times....

User avatar
burger2227
Veteran
Posts: 2316
Joined: Mon Aug 21, 2006 12:40 am
Location: Pittsburgh, PA

Re: Creating QB64 .EXE files

Post by burger2227 » Thu Jan 29, 2015 3:21 pm

What do you mean by RUN them? When the IDE runs a program, it compiles it first! Once the EXE is created you can run them independently.

The IDE will compile your code if anything is changed in the code or it will just run the previous version already compiled if there are no changes.
Please acknowledge and thank members who answer your questions!
QB64 is a FREE QBasic compiler for WIN, MAC(OSX) and LINUX : https://www.qb64.org/forum/index.php
Get my Q-Basics demonstrator: https://www.dropbox.com/s/fdmgp91d6h8ps ... s.zip?dl=0

blv99
Newbie
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Dec 30, 2013 4:29 pm

Re: Creating QB64 .EXE files

Post by blv99 » Thu Jan 29, 2015 6:41 pm

I can run the program in a compiler mode, by opening the Basic program and clicking the "RUN" and "Start (F5)" commands. But when I click "RUN" and "Make EXE Only ( F11)" commands, to create EXE files, nothing happens. So, the compiler mode is working and the executable mode is dead. Any further suggestions, please? Thanks.

User avatar
burger2227
Veteran
Posts: 2316
Joined: Mon Aug 21, 2006 12:40 am
Location: Pittsburgh, PA

Re: Creating QB64 .EXE files

Post by burger2227 » Thu Jan 29, 2015 7:04 pm

Do the programs have titles? Once the IDE runs it, there will be an EXE file in that name. IE if there is no BAS file name then it will be named untitled.EXE.

The IDE only compiles after a code change or title change has been made. If the EXE is already made, it will not compile it again, it will just run it.
Please acknowledge and thank members who answer your questions!
QB64 is a FREE QBasic compiler for WIN, MAC(OSX) and LINUX : https://www.qb64.org/forum/index.php
Get my Q-Basics demonstrator: https://www.dropbox.com/s/fdmgp91d6h8ps ... s.zip?dl=0

blv99
Newbie
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Dec 30, 2013 4:29 pm

Re: Creating QB64 .EXE files

Post by blv99 » Thu Jan 29, 2015 8:58 pm

I'm with you all along, burger2227. That's what the QB64 on my laptop used to do. But recently, when I bring up an old or create a new Basic program like ABC.BAS and hit the "Run" and the "Make EXE only" commands, no ABC.EXE file is created/updated at all. The ABC.BAS does run on the screen in a compiler mode, and that's the only way I can use it now. That's the limitation I don't understand and would like to resolve.

User avatar
burger2227
Veteran
Posts: 2316
Joined: Mon Aug 21, 2006 12:40 am
Location: Pittsburgh, PA

Re: Creating QB64 .EXE files

Post by burger2227 » Thu Jan 29, 2015 9:50 pm

What IDE button are you using as the "compiler mode"?

Again, the IDE must compile it into an EXE to run it. Try running untitled.exe to see if that is the program you just compiled.

Another problem I once had was an invisible IDE that would cause the IDE I was using to make duplicate files with a (2) in the name.

What is the path to your QB64 folder?
Please acknowledge and thank members who answer your questions!
QB64 is a FREE QBasic compiler for WIN, MAC(OSX) and LINUX : https://www.qb64.org/forum/index.php
Get my Q-Basics demonstrator: https://www.dropbox.com/s/fdmgp91d6h8ps ... s.zip?dl=0

iamdenteddisk
Veteran
Posts: 185
Joined: Mon Jun 30, 2008 4:10 pm

Re: Creating QB64 .EXE files

Post by iamdenteddisk » Thu Nov 05, 2015 8:08 am

i remember being told by galleon himself while in discussion with him and steve, "the same hour I was told to leave the forum using f-bombs and worse", that future versions would require online connection to get an exe. also that exe's would be generated remotely.. i guess then you collect it from email or the website itself, IDK??? I didn't stay to see this implemented. this was maybe 3-4 yrs ago when.. well berger2227 remembers when..

I had pushed to reason that no library was worth selling out for, that it was more valuable, to stick with "pure-qb", to make all functions your self or roll your own..

then the insult and insinuation of stealing code came which i never did, then something about preventing future plagiarism and library copyrights infringement..

he said he intended to put a stop to people recompiling other peoples code and stepping on copyrights by doing this, he said the source file would be sent and tested "compared" against known copyrighted available example source. that if the source tested genuine to "totally originate" from the programmers computer keyboard not copy paste, it would let the exe be generated but that if it tested positive to have any copy written code or lib used in it or copy pasted from other file, that it would keep a database of instances for authorities to pursue legal action.

at the time a few young kids there where basically copy pasting every piece of code they found under new names and assuming credit for it..
and the guru member where posting library's they hoped to sell..

when in fact early on all members did to some extent bringing old code in to use on qb64, helping the project to develop along the way.. that is the main reason it can be said to be 99% compliant to run all old qb code..

i remember feeling violated by that considering I have not only written in qb over 30years now giving freely but have also collected code snipets along the way. just to broaden my available function ability.. though I openly admit to using the freeware library's offered up in few instances, I never took credit for others work, nor did I ever charge for any software's or services using or containing it. qb was and is a life's hobby for me, not the bread winner..

I think part of the anger issue in our argument, may have been my open honesty in reminding him, how bringing new functionality and compliance to the project happened and was encouraged by the group. "by sharing our collections", to make that possible and also the fact I emailed him the qbasic 1.1 C source before the project really got underway which was on his request. after i told him i knew where it was on a warez.com website. still have copy of the sent email.

qb64, it was in a first phase interpreter 16bit version only then, before 32bit was started, not even finished. it had not yet gotten the 64 post-fix attached to it..

IMO it takes a real ass to state the obvious but if the shoe fits, ware it with pride.. now like i said above i didn't stay to see it implemented and perhaps it wasn't, IDK i no longer have access to that forum nor seek the answer from its owner.. <-that to is a deprived statement IMO when it was for the 7years i attended, a community project. I can even point out its major contributors. as it didn't really take off till the asm group got involved but until it hit 9.35 or what ever and microsoft suddenly got interested and library's became "built in", the project had a accepted leader from the beginning who owned the server the group was hosted on, put fourth as leader, for his C programming ability, that i don't deny. but it then suddenly had an owner. who made decisions as a monarch and democracy of the group was no more. would love to hear its resolution as to if it is now true..
has anyone still access to research this?

Post Reply