3d Graphics

Discuss whatever you want here--both QB and non-QB related. Anything from the DEF INT command to the meaning of life!

Moderators: Pete, Mods

Post Reply
User avatar
Mentat
Veteran
Posts: 409
Joined: Tue Aug 07, 2007 3:39 pm
Location: NC, US

3d Graphics

Post by Mentat »

How on Earth do any 3d programmers get anything done? I've spent the last 2 weeks working on the graphics for displaying one box guy who looks like a cross between a clown and roadkill.

And when I take a break, I go play Halo or something, and I can't help but notice that there are more polygons of the front end of Master Chief's helmet than there are for my entire guy. I know Bungie has some really fancy software to help them, but I feel I'm getting no where!

Any advice for speeding up my own progress? And I guess this is for general discusion of 3d graphics, as well as a question.
For any grievances posted above, I blame whoever is in charge . . .
User avatar
Raspberrypicker
Veteran
Posts: 55
Joined: Thu Aug 02, 2007 4:54 pm
Location: Florida

Post by Raspberrypicker »

well, that's why it takes a whole team of programmers 2 yrs to program halo (maybe longer, forgot when halo 2 last came out).

Hint: if you have a little brother or sister to boss around, you can make them learn qb and then make them type up the tedious parts of the program.

Ha-ha, j/k. Sorry, i have no real advice to give other than have paitence...but good luck with your program! :D
Fruit Pickin'
sid6.7
Veteran
Posts: 318
Joined: Tue Jun 21, 2005 8:51 am
Location: west USA
Contact:

Post by sid6.7 »

well in many cases they are not writing code from scratch alot of
this stuff has been done over and over they just take it and mod
it to fit the new program.

for QB there isn't many 3D games out there...you got to do all the work.


:twisted:
User avatar
Codemss
Veteran
Posts: 124
Joined: Sun Jun 24, 2007 6:49 am
Location: Utrecht, The Netherlands
Contact:

Post by Codemss »

It's always handy to have a plan when you're making big or complex games. Write the complex parts of what you want to do up (in notepad or on a paper) then look what equations or operations need to be done and then you write the things up that may come in handy (such as equations that you need much). Succes :)
Check out my site: <a href="http://members.lycos.nl/rubynl">Click here</a>
Hope you like it. Send some feedback if you want: <a href="mailto:basicallybest@live.nl">Mail me</a>
Codemss, before known as RubyNL
User avatar
Mentat
Veteran
Posts: 409
Joined: Tue Aug 07, 2007 3:39 pm
Location: NC, US

Post by Mentat »

I seem to have run into a bug. This is FB.

Code: Select all

LET SWING = 1
...
SELECT CASE SWING
     CASE SWING>=0
          LOCATE 10,50
          PRINT "RIGHT LEG FORWARD"
     CASE SWING<0
          LOCATE 10,50
          PRINT "LEFT LEG FORWARD
     CASE ELSE
          LOCATE 10,50
          PRINT "NOT WALKING"
END SELECT 
Always returns not walking. Now, everything is DIM SHARED and I have OPTION EXPLICIT. And there's a lot more to each case, but for room and the purpose of debugging I left it out.

Why is it automatically going to ELSE?
For any grievances posted above, I blame whoever is in charge . . .
Lachie Dazdarian
Veteran
Posts: 202
Joined: Mon Aug 30, 2004 6:18 am
Location: Croatia
Contact:

Post by Lachie Dazdarian »

Erm...your code is incorrect. I'm not sure if your code would even work in QB.

Do this...

Code: Select all


LET SWING = 1

SELECT CASE SWING 
    CASE IS >=0
        LOCATE 10,50 
         PRINT "RIGHT LEG FORWARD" 
    CASE IS <0 
          LOCATE 10,50 
          PRINT "LEFT LEG FORWARD 
    CASE ELSE 
         LOCATE 10,50 
         PRINT "NOT WALKING" 
END SELECT 

Lachie Dazdarian - The Maker Of Stuff
User avatar
Mentat
Veteran
Posts: 409
Joined: Tue Aug 07, 2007 3:39 pm
Location: NC, US

Post by Mentat »

Fixed it. Thanks :).

I ran it and one leg does not appreciate physics. But I think I can fix that.
For any grievances posted above, I blame whoever is in charge . . .
Post Reply