IMPORTANT QUESTION

If you have questions about any aspect of QBasic programming, or would like to help fellow programmers solve their problems, check out this board!

Moderators: Pete, Mods

Post Reply
Sinuvoid
Veteran
Posts: 155
Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2007 8:20 am

IMPORTANT QUESTION

Post by Sinuvoid »

How do you open/use ports in QB? So like if you had a game and you wanted a world wide high score it could be displayed on the internet or oyu could access MSN from QB...

Ill give you the MSN port if you like and try to think up something with that.


MSN port number = ok actually theres like 9 or something....just checked now....

8360
4006
9
2356
2344
8496
8510

those are the ports for MSN

I got these by using this program called "Active Ports"
Simple port program
google it =)
User avatar
Mentat
Veteran
Posts: 409
Joined: Tue Aug 07, 2007 3:39 pm
Location: NC, US

Post by Mentat »

ASM, I think. :? It should work; if it's just interupts.
For any grievances posted above, I blame whoever is in charge . . .
Sinuvoid
Veteran
Posts: 155
Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2007 8:20 am

Post by Sinuvoid »

ASM eh....hm well ill try it, if theres anything easier than let me know.

(Dam, now i have to learn ASM) *back to the drawing board*
User avatar
Mentat
Veteran
Posts: 409
Joined: Tue Aug 07, 2007 3:39 pm
Location: NC, US

Post by Mentat »

You probably did half the work. What you have to do shouldn't be that hard. 8)
For any grievances posted above, I blame whoever is in charge . . .
Sinuvoid
Veteran
Posts: 155
Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2007 8:20 am

Post by Sinuvoid »

just learning it now......when i follow alone with the tutorial
(http://www.petesqbsite.com/sections/tut ... ls/asm.txt)
Its differnent than what im doing

to see what i mean ill post a video on youtube k
Sinuvoid
Veteran
Posts: 155
Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2007 8:20 am

Post by Sinuvoid »

Ok got the vid and URL

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=o6B1scKtPZQ

and the tutorial is the very first one in the assembly catagory

so follow alone where my mouse is
Mac
Veteran
Posts: 151
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2007 2:00 pm

Re: IMPORTANT QUESTION

Post by Mac »

Lee wrote:How do you open/use ports in QB?
I think it can't be done unless you are on a pure DOS system (where DOS is the only operating system).

You need a language like Visual Basic which was developed to be an integral part of the Windows operating system, if you plan that people can use your program from there.

Otherwise, all your players will have to boot up in pure DOS. (Well MAYBE you can get to COM3 or 4)

IMHO

But to answer your question, experiment with something like

Code: Select all

OPEN "com2: 300, n, 8, 1,cd0,cs0,ds0,op0,rs,rb2048" FOR INPUT AS #1
DIM w AS INTEGER, v AS INTEGER
DO
  w = LOC(1)
  IF w <v> 0 THEN PRINT INPUT$(w, #1) ELSE PRINT "No input received"
CLOSE
and study stuff like
http://www.network54.com/Forum/13959/thread/1178973170/

Mac
Sinuvoid
Veteran
Posts: 155
Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2007 8:20 am

Post by Sinuvoid »

ok so VB seems to be the ONLY way (but ill look up on com3,4)

all im trying to do is make a program that sends it self to a website and writes it self in a text file and shows it on the site.
Post Reply