Is FreeBasic, the same as BASIC

The forum for all of your Freebasic needs!

Moderators: Pete, Mods

Post Reply
User avatar
GarryRicketson
Veteran
Posts: 90
Joined: Fri Jul 16, 2010 10:02 am
Location: Cuencame,Durango,Mexico
Contact:

Is FreeBasic, the same as BASIC

Post by GarryRicketson » Thu Mar 22, 2012 11:14 pm

I am not trying to be funny or anything, but is FreeBasic the same as Basic ?
My reason for asking is, I have never anything much with either BASIC or FreeBasic,
what little I know is with qbasic, and qb64,.. all though qbasic and qb64 do have a lot in common, I did look at a little on Free Basic, back when first started, but nothing on BASIC, or is that the same ?
If they are not the same, where would one go to look for BASIC tutorials ?
thanks from Garry
thanks

User avatar
Lachie Dazdarian
Veteran
Posts: 204
Joined: Mon Aug 30, 2004 6:18 am
Location: Croatia
Contact:

Post by Lachie Dazdarian » Fri Mar 23, 2012 1:23 am

As much as BASIC dialects are similar, they are equally different and you can't learn all BASIC dialects (or most of them) by only learning one of them (or most definitely the original original Dartmouth BASIC).

FreeBASIC is a BASIC dialect, and it really depends on the user how much your FreeBASIC code will remain BASIC. Nothing in the FreeBASIC architecture forces you (or even directs you, IMO) to code non-BASIC style code.

For a good intro into FreeBASIC built-in GFX library, read my tuts from BASIC Gaming: http://games.freebasic.net/basicgaming.php
Lachie Dazdarian - The Maker Of Stuff

buddpaul
Coder
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2006 5:21 pm

Post by buddpaul » Mon Jun 11, 2012 10:29 pm

....an EXCELLENT tutorial I might add!!

Post Reply