A 2d Game

Discuss whatever you want here--both QB and non-QB related. Anything from the DEF INT command to the meaning of life!

Moderators: Pete, Mods

Anonymous

A 2d Game

Post by Anonymous »

Hi everybody. :)

First thing I want to say is this site is awesome. I didn't know you could do so much with QB. 8)

Now, I'm a beginner (not a newbie ;) I'm not going to be THAT annoying) and I'm starting a new project. I wanted to ask you some questions so I know what to do.

1. I wish to make a old mario style game with the figure jumping over things and so forth. I'd like to set it so the character is always moving. What type of tutorial should I look at to make an engine that works like that?

2. Graphic wise, where should I look about that?

Thanks a lot. :)
MystikShadows
Veteran

Post by MystikShadows »

Hi JonathanS,

Welcome aboard. :-).

Ok...I think one of the best series you can read (as far as QB is concerned) to learn would be Vic's tutorial. They are 22 of them but the are very clear and to the point. you can read them here: http://www.petesqbsite.com/sections/tut ... n.shtml#11

Now, there is this new crave, have you heard of FreeBASIC (http://www.freebasic.net) ? if not...it's a 32 bit version of QBasic. This is a compiler however so you can use FBIDE or Any editor you want to write your code then you compile it with the FreeBASIC Compiler. It allows you to do much more advanced games, faster, without the memory limits of QBasic and family. I'd still read those tutorials and maybe do this game in QB (to get yourself back on track with the language) then take a good look at FreeBASIC and FBIDE. You'll see just how close they've come and how good a job they did at giving a QB like language that can do whatever the other languages can do.
When God created light, so too was born, the first Shadow!

MystikShadows

Need hosting? http://www.jc-hosting.net

Interested in Text & ASCII development? Look no further!
http://www.ascii-world.com
Zamaster
Veteran