dosdraw program in file area

Discuss whatever you want here--both QB and non-QB related. Anything from the DEF INT command to the meaning of life!

Moderators: Pete, Mods

Post Reply
User avatar
sid6.7
Veteran
Posts: 318
Joined: Tue Jun 21, 2005 8:51 am
Location: west USA
Contact:

dosdraw program in file area

Post by sid6.7 » Tue Aug 30, 2005 11:08 am

hi guys,

this program really appears to be neat
i'd like them to work it would help with static
graphics for games if so.

dosdraw creates a file *.ssf which is basically
x,y,k.....k = color

then your supose to be able to run this
to paint your picture to the screen...

Code: Select all

  CLS
  OPEN "filename.SSF" FOR INPUT AS #1
  DO WHILE NOT EOF(1)
  INPUT #1 ,X ,Y ,K
  PSET (X,Y),K
  LOOP
  CLOSE #1
but for me it seems to keep locking up
on PSET and calling it an illegal function....

any idea's why?

User avatar
The Awakened
Veteran
Posts: 144
Joined: Sun Aug 07, 2005 1:51 am

Post by The Awakened » Tue Aug 30, 2005 12:46 pm

Did you change the screen mode to whatever mode DosDraw uses?

By the way, having that x, y, c crap is too much. You shouldn't have to have the x/y coordinates, just the color of each pixel in seqential order. If DosDraw actually DOES do this (and as I write this now, I'm thinking it doesn't and you misread the documentation), ditch it. Your files will be 3 times as big as they need to be.
"Sorry for beating you up with a baseball bat Julian, but I DID think that you were a samsquanch."

User avatar
sid6.7
Veteran
Posts: 318
Joined: Tue Jun 21, 2005 8:51 am
Location: west USA
Contact:

Post by sid6.7 » Tue Aug 30, 2005 2:32 pm

thats right out of the documents provided...

you can draw fine...but when you go to run
the file in qbasic it freaks...running it in qbasic
and running dosdraw are 2 different steps not related
to each other...

his file *.ssf does not include a screen mode call...
just straight numbers...

true the file is huge...but thats something else...

does PSET run in only certain screen modes?

thanks

User avatar
sid6.7
Veteran
Posts: 318
Joined: Tue Jun 21, 2005 8:51 am
Location: west USA
Contact:

Post by sid6.7 » Tue Aug 30, 2005 3:00 pm

okay SCREEN MODE was it...he didnt write that
in the documents...and for us NOOBS who dont
know what we're doing.....BOOM..

so when you use it you got to remember how each
file was made with each dosdraw module...in screen 9 12 13....
then when you write your program include that screen for that
module in your code......brb..since there are 3 versions of
dosdraw for each screen mode...OY...

User avatar
The Awakened
Veteran
Posts: 144
Joined: Sun Aug 07, 2005 1:51 am

Post by The Awakened » Tue Aug 30, 2005 7:27 pm

It's not really a good idea to switch between screen modes unless you absolutely HAVE TO... and quite honestly, I can't think of anything that would need to.

My suggestion: screw DosDraw. Go download PixelPlus256, so you can use BSAVE and BLOAD.
"Sorry for beating you up with a baseball bat Julian, but I DID think that you were a samsquanch."

Post Reply