Page 1 of 1

DO...UNTIL hogging issue

Posted: Wed Aug 24, 2005 5:06 am
by kalc

Code: Select all

'Clicking on box example
DIM x AS INTEGER, y AS INTEGER, button AS Integer
Screen 7

WindowTitle "Mouse clicking example"
Color 2,15
cls

For px = 50 To 70
 For py = 50 To 70
  PSet (px,py), 14
 Next
Next

Do
 GetMouse x, y,, button
 If button = 1 Then
  If x>50 And x<70 Then
   If y>50 And y<70 Then i = 1
  End If
 End If
Loop Until i = 1

Print "Press any key..."
   
Sleep
This is what happens with all DO...LOOP UNTIL elements, it is constantly checking for a certain occourence and uses all the CPU. How do you get around this?

Posted: Wed Aug 24, 2005 6:27 am
by Z!re
Sleep

use Sleep 1 to Sleep 20

Whatever suits you..

I usually use sleep 1

Posted: Wed Aug 24, 2005 6:43 am
by kalc
But I want it wait for the user to click on the box.

Posted: Wed Aug 24, 2005 8:10 am
by Z!re

Code: Select all

'Clicking on box example
DIM x AS INTEGER, y AS INTEGER, button AS Integer
Screen 7

WindowTitle "Mouse clicking example"
Color 2,15
cls

For px = 50 To 70
 For py = 50 To 70
  PSet (px,py), 14
 Next
Next

Do
 GetMouse x, y,, button
 If button = 1 Then
  If x>50 And x<70 Then
   If y>50 And y<70 Then i = 1
  End If
 End If
 Sleep 1
Loop Until i = 1

Print "Press any key..."
   
Sleep 
Try it.. Sleep in FB uses millisecond accuracy, not seconds as in QB..

Sleep 1 means: wait for 1/1000th of a second..

Posted: Thu Aug 25, 2005 12:52 am
by kalc
???! That is not what I'm asking. I know that SLEEP counts in milliseconds in FB, but I want to wait for the user to click on the box. Girls... wadda thay know? :lol:

Posted: Thu Aug 25, 2005 12:56 am
by guest
kalc wrote:???! That is not what I'm asking. I know that SLEEP counts in milliseconds in FB, but I want to wait for the user to click on the box. Girls... wadda thay know? :lol:

i'd be careful she's libel to take that sword there and
lop your head off...

Posted: Thu Aug 25, 2005 12:57 am
by woot
kalc wrote:???! That is not what I'm asking. I know that SLEEP counts in milliseconds in FB, but I want to wait for the user to click on the box. Girls... wadda thay know? :lol:

this is a great way to end up not getting any help at all

Posted: Thu Aug 25, 2005 4:51 am
by kalc
'd be careful she's libel to take that sword there
OK, sorry Z!re, just couldn't help stating the obvious. No, seriously, sorry. But there is real iron in there: libel! God damn, so good... I might publish it! < That is kind of irony! :lol: :shock:

Posted: Thu Aug 25, 2005 5:18 am
by Z!re
*glares*
kalc wrote:This is what happens with all DO...LOOP UNTIL elements, it is constantly checking for a certain occourence and uses all the CPU. How do you get around this?
To solve the hogging issue, add the sleep 1
kalc wrote:That is not what I'm asking.
kalc wrote:I want to wait for the user to click on the box
Ok, so hogging isnt a problem then? Fine, your code works just fine, stfu.


Next time, before you even think about bashing me, try what I've said.

Posted: Thu Aug 25, 2005 5:25 am
by Seb McClouth
My advice: listen to Z!re, she knows what she's talking about. Now I think about it... we should call here lady Z!re... hehehe

grtz
Seb

Posted: Fri Aug 26, 2005 12:50 am
by kalc
OK Z!re, I am very sorry. I thoought you ws just telling me about the diferrences between FB and QB with Sleep. This has solved my problem, and a problem that occurs in so many of my programs. Thank you Z!re :!:

Posted: Fri Aug 26, 2005 3:53 am
by Z!re
No problem.. good luck with your coding..