Develop machine

Discuss whatever you want here--both QB and non-QB related. Anything from the DEF INT command to the meaning of life!

Moderators: Pete, Mods

Post Reply
User avatar
SebMcClouth
Veteran
Posts: 240
Joined: Fri Apr 29, 2005 2:20 am
Location: Inside the Matrix

Develop machine

Post by SebMcClouth » Mon Aug 22, 2005 4:48 pm

I'm having problems with my develop machine. It sometimes crashed for no reason... giving memory problems. This might mean that I can't develop qbinux for about one month a half. Around midth October I hope to have my Pentium I 120 Mhz up and running. The only problem is that I will be restricted to a 40 MB (Yeah MB) drive, meaning that I can't do mayor stuff until I have another hard drive.

Until further notice...
I know why you're here. I know what you've been doing... why you hardly sleep, why you live alone, and why night after night, you sit by your computer...<br>
Unfortunately, no one can be told what Qbinux is. You have to see it for yourself.

moneo
Veteran
Posts: 451
Joined: Tue Jun 28, 2005 7:00 pm
Location: Mexico City, Mexico

Re: Develop machine

Post by moneo » Mon Aug 22, 2005 6:42 pm

SebMcClouth wrote:I'm having problems with my develop machine. It sometimes crashed for no reason... giving memory problems. This might mean that I can't develop qbinux for about one month a half. Around midth October I hope to have my Pentium I 120 Mhz up and running. The only problem is that I will be restricted to a 40 MB (Yeah MB) drive, meaning that I can't do mayor stuff until I have another hard drive.

Until further notice...
Does your development machine have an USB port? If it does, maybe you can use a memory stick of say 128 or 256 MB as auxiliary storage in the meantime.
*****
If you are ahead of me, lead.
If you are behind me, follow.
If you are not doing anything,
Get out of the way.

User avatar
SebMcClouth
Veteran
Posts: 240
Joined: Fri Apr 29, 2005 2:20 am
Location: Inside the Matrix

Post by SebMcClouth » Tue Aug 23, 2005 3:34 am

I only wish it had. I do have a pc-card modem/networkcard/firewire but I don't have a network set up yet.
It's a real old laptop as you can see here:

<img src ="http://www.fos.come-to.de/laptop/pics/i ... jpg"></img>

grtz
Seb
I know why you're here. I know what you've been doing... why you hardly sleep, why you live alone, and why night after night, you sit by your computer...<br>
Unfortunately, no one can be told what Qbinux is. You have to see it for yourself.

User avatar
SebMcClouth
Veteran
Posts: 240
Joined: Fri Apr 29, 2005 2:20 am
Location: Inside the Matrix

Post by SebMcClouth » Tue Aug 23, 2005 3:36 am

OH btw I do use some sort of a storing device: 1.44 MB HD diskette. :lol:

grtz
Seb
I know why you're here. I know what you've been doing... why you hardly sleep, why you live alone, and why night after night, you sit by your computer...<br>
Unfortunately, no one can be told what Qbinux is. You have to see it for yourself.

User avatar
lurah-
Veteran
Posts: 206
Joined: Mon Nov 01, 2004 10:47 am
Location: Finland
Contact:

Post by lurah- » Tue Aug 23, 2005 7:05 am

Nice laptop :wink:
I have old compaq contura 420c here as dos pc. 80486 with mmm...was it 16 or 32 megs ram :lol:

moneo
Veteran
Posts: 451
Joined: Tue Jun 28, 2005 7:00 pm
Location: Mexico City, Mexico

Post by moneo » Tue Aug 23, 2005 7:49 pm

Seb,

How about an Iomega Zip Drive? They used to be very popular but now hardly anybody uses them. Maybe one of your friends still has one that he's not using and maybe you could borrow it or buy it very cheap. If I recall they used to sell for about $179. First check if you can still buy the disk cartridges.

I just checked
www.iomega.com
and it looks like they're still selling the devices and cartridges.

You'll also need the diskette with the original TSR software to drive the device, and the software must match the device version. The simplest version hooked up to the parallel port and each cartridge had a capacity of 100 MB, and cost about $7. I still use one for backups.
*****
If you are ahead of me, lead.
If you are behind me, follow.
If you are not doing anything,
Get out of the way.

Seb McClouth

Post by Seb McClouth » Wed Aug 24, 2005 2:39 am

I fixed my problem. My 16Mb DRAM memory card was causing trouble. So I'm back to 4 mb. Let's hope that Qbinux eats it.

grtz
Seb

User avatar
SebMcClouth
Veteran
Posts: 240
Joined: Fri Apr 29, 2005 2:20 am
Location: Inside the Matrix

Post by SebMcClouth » Wed Aug 24, 2005 1:51 pm

It seems to work just fine... :lol:
I know why you're here. I know what you've been doing... why you hardly sleep, why you live alone, and why night after night, you sit by your computer...<br>
Unfortunately, no one can be told what Qbinux is. You have to see it for yourself.

Post Reply