Log In Problems Fixed!

Discuss whatever you want here--both QB and non-QB related. Anything from the DEF INT command to the meaning of life!

Moderators: Pete, Mods

Post Reply
User avatar
Pete
Site Admin
Posts: 882
Joined: Sun Dec 07, 2003 9:10 pm
Location: Candor, NY
Contact:

Log In Problems Fixed!

Post by Pete » Mon Jul 18, 2005 12:05 pm

I've finally solved the log in problems that everyone has been having lately, thanks to the help of Moneo.

It had something to do with this forum being set up on two domain names -- both http://s91125643.onlinehome.us and http://www.petesqbsite.com

For some reason, http://s91125643.onlinehome.us was set as the default domain name for the forum and for the forum's MySQL database. Unfortunately, 99% of you access this forum through the http://www.petesqbsite.com/forum address, so you had problems logging in. (That's why most of you had to log in twice to actually get logged in -- after your first failed log in attempt at the petesqbsite.com address, the forum would redirect you to the onlinehome.us address for a second attempt that would actually work.)

The petesqbsite.com/forum address is now the official address for the forum, and should work as expected.

Of course, for those of you that use the onlinehome.us address, now you're going to have to deal with the same problems that other people were dealing with before -- just in reverse. :)

MystikShadows
Veteran
Posts: 703
Joined: Sun Nov 14, 2004 7:36 am
Contact:

Post by MystikShadows » Mon Jul 18, 2005 12:13 pm

Wooohooo....awesome :-)....Thanks to moneo for that yes :-).
When God created light, so too was born, the first Shadow!

MystikShadows

Need hosting? http://www.jc-hosting.net

Interested in Text & ASCII development? Look no further!
http://www.ascii-world.com

User avatar
The Walrus
Veteran
Posts: 85
Joined: Fri Apr 01, 2005 7:19 am
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Post by The Walrus » Mon Jul 18, 2005 2:35 pm

Yay :P Thanks moneo!
If swimming is so good for your figure, how do you explain walruses?

moneo
Veteran
Posts: 451
Joined: Tue Jun 28, 2005 7:00 pm
Location: Mexico City, Mexico

Post by moneo » Mon Jul 18, 2005 4:57 pm

Actually, guys, I didn't do much. I only told Pete about finding that different ways into the forum gave different log-in requirements. He actually went in, identified the problem, and fixed it. So, the thanks go to Pete.
*****

MystikShadows
Veteran
Posts: 703
Joined: Sun Nov 14, 2004 7:36 am
Contact:

Post by MystikShadows » Mon Jul 18, 2005 6:02 pm

lol ok then...let's all forget about money...and edit our posts to say pete...lol
When God created light, so too was born, the first Shadow!

MystikShadows

Need hosting? http://www.jc-hosting.net

Interested in Text & ASCII development? Look no further!
http://www.ascii-world.com

User avatar
Rattrapmax6
Veteran
Posts: 1055
Joined: Sun Jan 02, 2005 2:11 pm
Location: At my computer
Contact:

Post by Rattrapmax6 » Mon Jul 18, 2005 7:34 pm

Um.. wouldn't this be better?

Thanks Moneo and Pete!!!!!

Altho, I figured it on my end, and nevery really had much of a problem anymore... I'll say thanks to those who did... :wink:
-Kevin (aka:Rattra)
(x.t.r.GRAPHICS)

User avatar
lurah-
Veteran
Posts: 206
Joined: Mon Nov 01, 2004 10:47 am
Location: Finland
Contact:

Post by lurah- » Wed Jul 20, 2005 2:45 am

ah, great to see those orange things back in here :lol:

guest

Post by guest » Wed Jul 20, 2005 1:33 pm

moneo's the man if he cant do it no one can!

Antoni
Veteran
Posts: 132
Joined: Wed Jun 15, 2005 3:01 pm
Contact:

Post by Antoni » Thu Jul 21, 2005 6:05 am

Was the last message from someone who wanted to stay anonymous or it did the login fail again? :D

Now cookies work for me. The forum identified me when I entered.

Guest

Post by Guest » Thu Jul 21, 2005 12:10 pm

Antoni wrote:Was the last message from someone who wanted to stay anonymous or it did the login fail again? :D
....
That's funny, Antoni!
*****

moneo
Veteran
Posts: 451
Joined: Tue Jun 28, 2005 7:00 pm
Location: Mexico City, Mexico

Post by moneo » Thu Jul 21, 2005 12:18 pm

That was me above. I had forgotten to log in.

This condition brings to mind a "feature" that several forums have, which is, that when you are not logged in and attempt to post a reply, you are first asked to log in.

Hmmmm, this also could be why we have so many "guest" posts.
*****

User avatar
Pete
Site Admin
Posts: 882
Joined: Sun Dec 07, 2003 9:10 pm
Location: Candor, NY
Contact:

Post by Pete » Thu Jul 21, 2005 12:27 pm

I left the ability for guests to post, because a lot of people are hesitant to sign up for yet *another* forum account.

Allowing guests to post will result in a more posts overall, and it makes the forum more inviting for newbies and for people who only plan on posting once or twice.

But you're right, it does sometimes trick people into posting without logging in.

Z!re
Veteran
Posts: 887
Joined: Wed Aug 04, 2004 11:15 am

Post by Z!re » Thu Jul 21, 2005 6:07 pm

Perhaps adding some large text saying:
You're not logged in, log in now, or post as guest!
I have left this dump.

moneo
Veteran
Posts: 451
Joined: Tue Jun 28, 2005 7:00 pm
Location: Mexico City, Mexico

Post by moneo » Thu Jul 21, 2005 7:35 pm

I noticed that some posts say:

AGuysName
Guest

Just curious as to how this works?
*****

MystikShadows
Veteran
Posts: 703
Joined: Sun Nov 14, 2004 7:36 am
Contact:

Post by MystikShadows » Thu Jul 21, 2005 7:50 pm

When you're not logged in and you post a message you have the option to write your nick name there....so you're name is present but you are a guest as you're not logged in :-)
When God created light, so too was born, the first Shadow!

MystikShadows

Need hosting? http://www.jc-hosting.net

Interested in Text & ASCII development? Look no further!
http://www.ascii-world.com

User avatar
Rattrapmax6
Veteran
Posts: 1055
Joined: Sun Jan 02, 2005 2:11 pm
Location: At my computer
Contact:

Post by Rattrapmax6 » Fri Jul 22, 2005 10:58 am

I leave mine on auto login, I hardly ever have to log in munualy, this in a way also was how I repaired that "Log me out" when I switch a page stuff... :P

I only have to when I'm on a diff sub-computer (Or network domain, but since my comp isn't networked to anything, they act as diff sub-comps.. ^_^), or using a diff browser... like right now, XD...
-Kevin (aka:Rattra)
(x.t.r.GRAPHICS)

Post Reply