YES! I got my new computer parts!!!

Discuss whatever you want here--both QB and non-QB related. Anything from the DEF INT command to the meaning of life!

Moderators: Pete, Mods

Post Reply
User avatar
{Nathan}
Veteran
Posts: 1169
Joined: Thu Aug 19, 2004 6:08 pm
Location: The wetlands of central Ohio, USA
Contact:

YES! I got my new computer parts!!!

Post by {Nathan} » Thu Jan 05, 2006 8:58 pm

Ahem.:lol:

Sempron 2800 64 bit. (1.6 gigaherts, 256k of L2 catch)

120 gb hard drive. (Gonna partition an put MS-DOS, SuSE 64 bit, 98SE, and save space for another distribution) (dad only has 80)

Abit motherboard (nothin too special, the average) (dad's is crap)

512 Megabytes of PC3200 400mhz ram (My dad only has 512 @ 133mhz)


:lol: :lol: :lol:

ALL AT 20% OFF! :twisted:

And may I add that it was only 180 bucks, and I only owe my dad 36 dollars and 22 cents? :shock:

But may I also add that my brother owes me 120 bucks (next time he goes to bank.) :lol:
Image

DaveUnit
Veteran
Posts: 72
Joined: Sat Oct 29, 2005 10:07 am
Contact:

Post by DaveUnit » Thu Jan 05, 2006 9:51 pm

My Motherboard got backordered and it finally came today.

Intel Celeron 3.06ghz (couldn't afford pentium)
ATI Radeon x600 graphics card
512MB DDR RAM
GigaByte PCI-Express Motherboard
Gonna run Windows 2000

Aaaand I got a sweeet case, with lights coming soon. :D

Total cost was $395. hell yes.

~Dave~

r0x0r

Post by r0x0r » Fri Jan 06, 2006 9:49 pm

are you going to overclock that?

DaveUnit
Veteran
Posts: 72
Joined: Sat Oct 29, 2005 10:07 am
Contact:

Post by DaveUnit » Sat Jan 07, 2006 12:03 am

Was that question to me of Nathan? If me, no. I know NOTHING about over clocking at all so that's out of the question.

~Dave~

Z!re
Veteran
Posts: 887
Joined: Wed Aug 04, 2004 11:15 am

Post by Z!re » Sat Jan 07, 2006 7:32 am

Got my new stuff about two weeks ago..

AMD Sempron 64, 3400+, 1gb ddr 3200
I have left this dump.

User avatar
Pete
Site Admin
Posts: 882
Joined: Sun Dec 07, 2003 9:10 pm
Location: Candor, NY
Contact:

Post by Pete » Sat Jan 07, 2006 10:26 am

It's weird to me that the computer I built two years ago (January 2004) is *still* way more powerful than the new computers you guys are building now. Whatever happened to Moore's law?

DaveUnit
Veteran
Posts: 72
Joined: Sat Oct 29, 2005 10:07 am
Contact:

Post by DaveUnit » Sat Jan 07, 2006 2:40 pm

Well I had an extremely strict budget and could only afford so much. I plan on upgrading as I get the cash, but there are some things I really need for my drumset before I think about upgrading the computer, like a new head for one of my toms. I put a hole in it last night at practice and I have a show to play tonight at 9(eastern), and I'm broke. No tengo dinero.
Well at least my computer will be done within the next 2 days. :)

~Dave~

User avatar
{Nathan}
Veteran
Posts: 1169
Joined: Thu Aug 19, 2004 6:08 pm
Location: The wetlands of central Ohio, USA
Contact:

Post by {Nathan} » Sat Jan 07, 2006 5:02 pm

I am only 12.

I dont have 500 bucks.
Image

DaveUnit minus logged in

Post by DaveUnit minus logged in » Sun Jan 08, 2006 12:39 pm

I'm only 15, I was given 400 from my mom and I had some extra cash to front for the before-rebate prices so i threw that in. I'm getting about 80 bucks back in rebates.

Z!re
Veteran
Posts: 887
Joined: Wed Aug 04, 2004 11:15 am

Post by Z!re » Sun Jan 08, 2006 1:39 pm

Pete wrote:It's weird to me that the computer I built two years ago (January 2004) is *still* way more powerful than the new computers you guys are building now. Whatever happened to Moore's law?
Actually, it probably isnt. CPU speed and amount of RAM is far from the things that make up a computer nowadays.
Granted, your computer is badass.. :P

If I got a 5ghz dual core cpu motherboard thing, with dual gpu cards and 4gb ram.. I bet it would be the best for a while too :P
I have left this dump.

User avatar
{Nathan}
Veteran
Posts: 1169
Joined: Thu Aug 19, 2004 6:08 pm
Location: The wetlands of central Ohio, USA
Contact:

Post by {Nathan} » Mon Jan 09, 2006 3:16 pm

0_0
o_0
0_o

OMG

Wow. Oh well, good enough to run C&C:Renagade, so I am happy. Heck, it it more that 1 gh.

My dad's computer is CRAP. 512 megabytes of ram at 133mghz, AMD 2400 32 bit processor, dvd-r/rw/cd-r/w combo drive, 2 80gb HDs (both full)... and no linux.
Image

User avatar
Patz QuickBASIC Creations
Veteran
Posts: 399
Joined: Wed Mar 02, 2005 9:01 pm
Location: Nashville, Tennessee
Contact:

Post by Patz QuickBASIC Creations » Tue Jan 31, 2006 5:39 pm

OK, ultimate computer. Server-quality.
Total Price: $22497.77 (USA dollars)
  • TOTAL PERFORMANCE SPECS:
    4 AMD Opteron 2.4GHZ Processers (9.6GHZ total, 1000MHZ FSB each)
    32GB PC3200 (400MHZ) DDR-RAM
    1360W Power Supplied (might not be enough)
    4TB Storage (Terrabyte = 1000GB)
    Expandibility
Bring your own case :D

User avatar
Rattrapmax6
Veteran
Posts: 1055
Joined: Sun Jan 02, 2005 2:11 pm
Location: At my computer
Contact:

Post by Rattrapmax6 » Thu Feb 02, 2006 9:42 pm

:lol: I finially got a whole new sys...

AMD 3000+ 1.89ghz
1gb ram
200gb hdd
Nforce4 Mobo w/ sli
6600GT gfx card

(Whatever I'm forgeting here)

Using WinXP w/ Nvidia moddifying it...

Total was 1180USD,. of which I only spent 780USD on,. the rest I asked for, for x-mas... :lol:
-Kevin (aka:Rattra)
(x.t.r.GRAPHICS)

User avatar
rdc
Coder
Posts: 22
Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2006 9:23 am
Location: Texas, USA
Contact:

Post by rdc » Fri Feb 03, 2006 9:40 am

The question isn't what is the raw CPU power, but what is the effective through-put of the system? I put my system together a year or so ago, and based it on an AMD Athlon 1.1 ghz. However, I opted for a 300mhz bus on the motherboard instead of the standard 100mhz bus. This gives me an effective through-put of about 1.9 ghz. The motherboard costs me slightly more, but not as much as a 2 ghz CPU would have cost, so I got the same computing power (overall) at a substantial savings.
Really Dysfunctional Coder

Post Reply