Page 1 of 1

Baron Von Evil's Mansion (3D maze game in QBasic)

Posted: Wed May 16, 2012 5:39 pm
by BenMcLean
I wrote this back in middle school and I'm in college now LOL. Decided to clean up the code a bit and throw it up on Google Code because ... why not?

I encourage anyone interested to modify this and/or develop new levels. If you do, I want to see what you come up with. Email me at mclean.ben@gmail.com

Maybe if I have time I'll do a YouTube video on it.

Anyway the game is here:
http://code.google.com/p/baron-von-evil/



I was inspired to make it by this Javascript game http://www.star-dot.com/hishers/hisgame ... e/maze.htm

Posted: Wed May 16, 2012 6:11 pm
by Lachie Dazdarian
Thanks for sharing. Nice engine. Hope you will find motivation to do more levels.

BTW, would you mind if I feature this in the next issue of my ezine?

http://games.freebasic.net/basicgaming.php

Posted: Wed May 16, 2012 6:15 pm
by BenMcLean
Totally fine. It would be fun if there was a contest or whatever to design better levels / games for this.

First major change I would introduce would be hiding the mini-map until the player locates some kind of map item hidden in the labyrinth somewhere. (probably near the end where it's useless) I only added it because too many people who saw this didn't seem to comprehend that they're looking down a hallway without it. The mini-map is the one part I didn't code back in middle school but added when I dusted this off in order to release it. I am going to be looking at a few of the other crap projects I did back then to see if anything else merits seeing the light of day. :)

On second thought, maybe instead of a map item, some algorithms that light up parts of the map only when the player looks at them.

Turn the background red instead of black and you've got a Mars maze! (Maybe could re-implement the Mars maze scene from the Journeyman Project Turbo!) I also thought about making the floors, ceilings and walls different colors so as to have blue skies and green walls sort like a hedge labyrinth in a garden.

Interesting anecdote: I discovered completely by accident while coding this that walking into a large empty space created an interesting effect that looks like rows of marble columns! :D

I haven't touched QBasic since .... well since a long time ago. Does QB64 or whatever is the new tools have a way to let me make this into an executable that will run natively on modern systems?

Posted: Wed May 16, 2012 8:00 pm
by BenMcLean
you can also put this in your ezine if you want lol

Image

Posted: Wed May 16, 2012 9:38 pm
by burger2227
QB64 uses your stereo speakers.

Posted: Wed May 16, 2012 10:16 pm
by BenMcLean
burger2227 wrote:QB64 uses your stereo speakers.
Well apparently not with this program. It says illegal function call when the sounds are supposed to play. Works in QBasic and QuickBasic 4.5 but not with QB64

Posted: Thu May 17, 2012 1:10 am
by burger2227
Post the sound code that doesn't work...

Posted: Thu May 17, 2012 9:08 am
by BenMcLean
PLAY "T500 MB L25 O5 G O6 C"

Posted: Thu May 17, 2012 1:00 pm
by burger2227
T can only have a value from 32 to 255.

Posted: Thu May 17, 2012 4:27 pm
by BenMcLean
burger2227 wrote:T can only have a value from 32 to 255.
It works in QBasic and QuickBasic 4.5. Doesn't work on QB64. Maybe they're set to assume any value higher than 255 is 255.

Posted: Thu May 17, 2012 7:32 pm
by burger2227
According to QB Help, it defaults to 120 so I'd say that you are correct.

Posted: Thu May 17, 2012 7:37 pm
by BenMcLean
burger2227 wrote:According to QB Help, it defaults to 120 so I'd say that you are correct.
So ... might QB64 change to not give "illegal function call" errors that QBasic doesn't give?

Posted: Thu May 17, 2012 8:26 pm
by burger2227
I put in a report to have that addressed. It should not give an error.

Posted: Fri May 18, 2012 1:04 am
by BenMcLean
burger2227 wrote:I put in a report to have that addressed. It should not give an error.
Excellent, thanks. :D

Posted: Thu Jan 17, 2013 6:08 am
by johny3329
If you are making a compiler and use a library to do so check for the first two byte as a way to define the same commands quickbasic uses use my hexadecimal converter if you can finish it. USE START as it doesn't take any size of the file for use as memory stealing other than your dimensioned arrays and variables. Check this with FRE command and then compile with BC.EXE watch the compiler use how big the file is to memory because it had to store the code in an array or some type of variable. Remember that when you make a new compiler to store the file as .bak or just use the file as an opened file and convert aha the system is using the memory when you read the opened file must be someway around it. Happy to you who figure this out; wise would you be young jedi.
Twisted Evil