RPG demo in qb45 from Argentina

Announce and discuss the progress of your various programming-related projects...programs, games, websites, tutorials, libraries...anything!

Moderators: Pete, Mods

Post Reply
commandvom
Coder
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Sep 06, 2010 8:41 am

RPG demo in qb45 from Argentina

Post by commandvom »

Hello!
here is a rpg demo with source code included,
the files of the source are:

lords1.bas
sistema.def
tipos.def
dev.bat

the others files are graphics, config files, etc.
screenshots:

Image

Image

Image

the link:

http://www.mediafire.com/?mj1hchhwys350l2

in 'dev.bat' i set the blaster enviroment and load qb.exe with any options.
compile and play! or use 'lords1.exe'

This works fine in win95, win98 and winxp but not works on winvista winseven, and in some nvidia chipsets.

Have some bugs, code unusable, and is incompleted but the subroutine for draw is very completed.

Use SPACEBAR to switch passive mode (to talk) to active mode (to fight).
To fight use Left Button mouse to atack and RightButton mouse to defense.

Press M to view the map (only for debug/test)
Press P to jump to the x,y coordinates only for debug/test)

Enter to the armory and talk with the Fighter
Go to the mountain and search the monsters and kill them!

I am migrate this demo to QB64 and use the new and powerful features of this compiler!


Regards![/img]
User avatar
coma8coma1
Veteran
Posts: 100
Joined: Sat Dec 08, 2007 5:29 pm
Location: Maryland, USA

Post by coma8coma1 »

wow those graphics looks great foronly being 16 color!

did you ever get this posted over to qb64? I'd like to try to play it.
commandvom
Coder
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Sep 06, 2010 8:41 am

Post by commandvom »

Hi coma8coma1! This version is playable but not works in winvista or winseven. try to test/play in winxp and see how looks! the graphics is better than the screenshots (are older screenshots)! jaja

i migrate this to qb64 and to 256 colors and best performance, soon (a month or less) post this in qb64.net
User avatar
burger2227
Veteran
Posts: 2466
Joined: Mon Aug 21, 2006 12:40 am
Location: Pittsburgh, PA

Post by burger2227 »

256? How about 16 million colors? QB64 can do that too.

SOUND, BIG arrays, speed and no 64K memory limitations.

What code besides the colors needs "converted"?

USE V 0.91 as we are having sound board problems with the latest version. Turn Auto Update settings off in Options Menu too until it is fixed.

Ted
Please acknowledge and thank members who answer your questions!
QB64 is a FREE QBasic compiler for WIN, MAC(OSX) and LINUX : https://www.qb64.org/forum/index.php
Get my Q-Basics demonstrator: https://www.dropbox.com/s/fdmgp91d6h8ps ... s.zip?dl=0
commandvom
Coder
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Sep 06, 2010 8:41 am

Post by commandvom »

Hi burger2227!

I not still familiar with the qb64 advanced commands.

I use the statement WINDOWS SCREEN to simulate the 3rd dimention. Use bmp format to some graphics and draw with the PSET directly in screen. The WINDOWS SCREEN resize for me the sprite. Looks the subroutine to draw (dib2) and see how make this.
I want finish or advance in this project to start other more ambitious.
Soon the qb64 version and you see how look very well in 256 colors :)

Regards!!
Thanks for the comments and sugestions!
QB live!!
User avatar
burger2227
Veteran
Posts: 2466
Joined: Mon Aug 21, 2006 12:40 am
Location: Pittsburgh, PA

Post by burger2227 »

You can load BITMAPS directly. Don't need to use BSAVE or PSET to load them.

_NEWIMAGE can create ANY sized screen you need. Even 24/32 bit colors.

Use this link to the QB64 WIKI. _LOADIMAGE loads a bitmap directly. _PUTIMAGE places the images.

If you use masks, PUT AND is also supported, but you can also use 32 bit alpha clear colors. We have several Image converters for 8 or 24 bit colors and screenshots. 4 BPP can use 256 if need be.


http://qb64.net/wiki/index.php?title=LOADIMAGE


You will find QB64 easy to use with images!

Ted
Please acknowledge and thank members who answer your questions!
QB64 is a FREE QBasic compiler for WIN, MAC(OSX) and LINUX : https://www.qb64.org/forum/index.php
Get my Q-Basics demonstrator: https://www.dropbox.com/s/fdmgp91d6h8ps ... s.zip?dl=0
commandvom
Coder
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Sep 06, 2010 8:41 am

Post by commandvom »

I try but is not easy to use in this project. I want finish in this form-style (sorry my english!)
I am learning new commands in qb64 but i go slowly, i have no time to practice.
This project are 7-8 years of develope, but now i see the end of this, thanks to qb64 compiler. And see the future of new games developed for me using the new and advanced features of qb64!
User avatar
burger2227
Veteran
Posts: 2466
Joined: Mon Aug 21, 2006 12:40 am
Location: Pittsburgh, PA

Post by burger2227 »

Well, MOST of the QB keywords are supported so it should work well when you compile it without many, if any, changes.

Hope to see you there soon!

Ted
Please acknowledge and thank members who answer your questions!
QB64 is a FREE QBasic compiler for WIN, MAC(OSX) and LINUX : https://www.qb64.org/forum/index.php
Get my Q-Basics demonstrator: https://www.dropbox.com/s/fdmgp91d6h8ps ... s.zip?dl=0
Post Reply