Faster than LINE/PSET, Larger than GET()-() / PUT ()-()

Announce and discuss the progress of your various programming-related projects...programs, games, websites, tutorials, libraries...anything!

Moderators: Pete, Mods

Post Reply
User avatar
N1FTY V1RU$
Newbie
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Oct 23, 2004 5:34 am

Faster than LINE/PSET, Larger than GET()-() / PUT ()-()

Post by N1FTY V1RU$ »

Two questions for advanced QB1.1 programmers...

1) Does anybody knows how to draw graphics faster than internal QB functions ?

2) Does anybody kows how to get larger datas into GET and PUT functions (graphic) ?


I have to make a faster display engine for GLASSES (see anouncements). This display engine has to get the background of any object in order to redraw this background later. At this point, for getting larger images, I use a file, with an array of bytes, wich i put direcly to the file by using memory access VARPTR/VARSEG wich is a bit fast, but slower than GET/PUT, but it has the advantage of getting an putting larger images than GET/PUT can do...

Does anyone konws how to work around this limitation of GET/PUT ???
--------------------------
...:: N1FTY V1RU$ ::...
--------------------------
Anonymous

Post by Anonymous »

If you want it faster than GET/PUT...

1) Use ASM or library

2) Use ASM or library

It's that simple... ;)
User avatar
N1FTY V1RU$
Newbie
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Oct 23, 2004 5:34 am

CASE "assembly"

Post by N1FTY V1RU$ »

For the case i would use assemby, what should i need to have or to know ( for example, where to download an example...)

thanks for reply
--------------------------
...:: N1FTY V1RU$ ::...
--------------------------
Anonymous

Post by Anonymous »

First of all, you need some knowledge about ASM. You can get a large art of assembly book at my (still down) site: http://qbnz.com/harsoft/ARTOFASSEMBLER.zip.

Then you need information about the video mode you are using. If you're using Mode 13h (320x200x256), programming becomes rather easy because the full video buffer is stored at A000:0000 to A000:FFFF. If you want to use higher res modes, you have to use interrupts. Look at http://www.ctyme.com/rbrown.htm for the interrupt list.

But I don't know if this all can be used in QB1.1, anyone? If it doesn't work, I advice you to use QB 4.5 or QB 7.1 (PDS) instead.

Hope this helped a bit ;)
User avatar
N1FTY V1RU$
Newbie
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Oct 23, 2004 5:34 am

Thanks

Post by N1FTY V1RU$ »

Thanks for these links

Bye
--------------------------
...:: N1FTY V1RU$ ::...
--------------------------
Z!re
Veteran
Posts: 887
Joined: Wed Aug 04, 2004 11:15 am

Post by Z!re »

Storing more then 64kb as get/put would be inefficient.

And doesent really serve any purpouse.
I have left this dump.
Guest

Post by Guest »

Or you could use a library. You have many choices, ?GL, flib, dqb, rellib and a few more.
Anonymous

Post by Anonymous »

Don't forget NeoLib... ;)
Z!re
Veteran
Posts: 887
Joined: Wed Aug 04, 2004 11:15 am

Post by Z!re »

Plug plug plug
I have left this dump.
Post Reply