Still having Login problems

Latest news from this site.

Moderators: Pete, Mods

moneo
Veteran
Posts: 451
Joined: Tue Jun 28, 2005 7:00 pm
Location: Mexico City, Mexico

Still having Login problems

Postby moneo » Mon Dec 26, 2005 3:00 pm

Z!re suggested recently that I clear the cookie cache. I did that, but I'm still having Login problems. I first Log-in and sometime later I'm no longer logged in. I discover this when I post and it assignes the post to Guest.

Is anyone else having similar problems?
Any other suggestions?
*****

User avatar
Kyle
Veteran
Posts: 107
Joined: Thu Apr 14, 2005 2:41 pm

Postby Kyle » Mon Dec 26, 2005 5:39 pm

Just take the time to ensure you are actually logged in before posting. It will avoid the mess of double posting.

Guest

Postby Guest » Mon Dec 26, 2005 7:14 pm

Kylemc wrote:Just take the time to ensure you are actually logged in before posting. It will avoid the mess of double posting.

I've done that. I check and I'm logged in before starting a post, but it apparently logs me out while I'm posting.

I sometimes copy/paste code into my posts. Could that have anything to do with it?
*****

moneo
Veteran
Posts: 451
Joined: Tue Jun 28, 2005 7:00 pm
Location: Mexico City, Mexico

Postby moneo » Mon Dec 26, 2005 7:17 pm

It just did it again on the above post. Before hitting the "submit" button, I was still logged in, but when afterwards it displayed the "Information" screen, it had me as logged out. I have no control over that.
*****

User avatar
ShadowWolf
Veteran
Posts: 56
Joined: Thu Mar 04, 2004 1:32 pm
Contact:

Postby ShadowWolf » Mon Dec 26, 2005 7:22 pm

use firefox :)

or maybe try clicking the box log me in everytime i go to the webpage.

if that doesn't work ahh use firefox :)

moneo
Veteran
Posts: 451
Joined: Tue Jun 28, 2005 7:00 pm
Location: Mexico City, Mexico

Postby moneo » Mon Dec 26, 2005 8:42 pm

Ok, thanks. I'll try Firefox.
*****

User avatar
The Awakened
Veteran
Posts: 144
Joined: Sun Aug 07, 2005 1:51 am

Postby The Awakened » Mon Dec 26, 2005 9:41 pm

I've had similar troubles, Moneo.

Perhaps it's time to switch to Firefox as well.
"Sorry for beating you up with a baseball bat Julian, but I DID think that you were a samsquanch."

User avatar
Kyle
Veteran
Posts: 107
Joined: Thu Apr 14, 2005 2:41 pm

Postby Kyle » Tue Dec 27, 2005 7:13 am

Oh wait, you don't use Firefox?? That'll be it then :P

moneo
Veteran
Posts: 451
Joined: Tue Jun 28, 2005 7:00 pm
Location: Mexico City, Mexico

Postby moneo » Tue Dec 27, 2005 2:55 pm

Ok, this is the second post I've done using Firefox. Seem to work.

But, why is it that I've been a member here for 6 months using Internet Explorer, and ever since Firefox came out I've been having these Login problems? What's the connection? Has something been changed on this site to accomodate Firefox but doesn't work well with IE anymore?

Edit: I just noticed that with Firefox or IE when I first get into the forum, down at the bottom of the screen it says: Registered user: Moneo. If it knows who I am, probably based on my IP address, then why do I need to Sign-on? It wants my password for security, maybe? Hey, this is not an online banking site. Or maybe it wants to let me post as Guest? Whatever it is, it doesn't make a whole lot of sense to me. Perhaps the automatic signon via the IP address should be a user selected option like some sites have.
*****

User avatar
Kyle
Veteran
Posts: 107
Joined: Thu Apr 14, 2005 2:41 pm

Postby Kyle » Tue Dec 27, 2005 4:10 pm

It says Registered Users: Moneo when you are logged in.

Z!re
Veteran
Posts: 887
Joined: Wed Aug 04, 2004 11:15 am
Contact:

Postby Z!re » Tue Dec 27, 2005 4:37 pm

moneo wrote:Ok, this is the second post I've done using Firefox. Seem to work.

But, why is it that I've been a member here for 6 months using Internet Explorer, and ever since Firefox came out I've been having these Login problems? What's the connection? Has something been changed on this site to accomodate Firefox but doesn't work well with IE anymore?

Edit: I just noticed that with Firefox or IE when I first get into the forum, down at the bottom of the screen it says: Registered user: Moneo. If it knows who I am, probably based on my IP address, then why do I need to Sign-on? It wants my password for security, maybe? Hey, this is not an online banking site. Or maybe it wants to let me post as Guest? Whatever it is, it doesn't make a whole lot of sense to me. Perhaps the automatic signon via the IP address should be a user selected option like some sites have.
*****
It is selectable..
What URL are you using to get to the site?
http://www.petesqbsite.com/forum/ ?

Also, the connection between IE and FF, is that IE follow no standard whatsoever. It's the least standardized browser out there.
IE has some weird crap going on with cookies, and "non"-standard (MS standards, meaning people who made the website didnt eel like being stuck in 1997's HTTP standards) HTTP..

Registered user: Moneo. If it knows who I am, probably based on my IP address
It's based on a cookies stored on your computer.
I have left this dump.

moneo
Veteran
Posts: 451
Joined: Tue Jun 28, 2005 7:00 pm
Location: Mexico City, Mexico

Postby moneo » Tue Dec 27, 2005 6:54 pm

Kylemc wrote:It says Registered Users: Moneo when you are logged in.

No, it says it BEFORE I log in.
*****

EDITED: 12/28. You're right. It was showing me as registered yesterday before loggin in, but now it does not do that any more. ???
*****
Last edited by moneo on Wed Dec 28, 2005 9:30 pm, edited 2 times in total.

moneo
Veteran
Posts: 451
Joined: Tue Jun 28, 2005 7:00 pm
Location: Mexico City, Mexico

Postby moneo » Tue Dec 27, 2005 6:57 pm

Z!re wrote:......

It is selectable..
What URL are you using to get to the site?
http://www.petesqbsite.com/forum/ ?

I'm using:
http://www.petesqbsite.com

Thanks for your continued help and information.
*****

Z!re
Veteran
Posts: 887
Joined: Wed Aug 04, 2004 11:15 am
Contact:

Postby Z!re » Thu Dec 29, 2005 9:34 am

moneo wrote:
Kylemc wrote:It says Registered Users: Moneo when you are logged in.

No, it says it BEFORE I log in.
*****

EDITED: 12/28. You're right. It was showing me as registered yesterday before loggin in, but now it does not do that any more. ???
*****
It's probably conflicting cookies again..
It says you're already logged in, as a registered user, because the cookies on your computer says to save your password and username.
It's automatically used the nex time you visit the site..
Are you using IE or FF now? And is the problem the same in both of them?

Thanks for your continued help and information.
No problem
I have left this dump.

moneo
Veteran
Posts: 451
Joined: Tue Jun 28, 2005 7:00 pm
Location: Mexico City, Mexico

Postby moneo » Thu Dec 29, 2005 6:55 pm

Z!re wrote:.....
Are you using IE or FF now? And is the problem the same in both of them?


I'm using FF now, and the problem has not manifested itself again.
*****

Guest

Postby Guest » Sun Jan 01, 2006 2:44 pm

I've been using FireFox for the last few posts, and the login problem had not appeared.

However, a few minutes ago, the same thing happened still using FF.
* I logged in at the start.
* Saw an issue that I wanted to post to.
* Began posting the reply.
* Checked the top of the screen and it said "Log out [ moneo ]", which meant that I was still logged in.
* Hit the submit button.
* When it displayed my message, it displayed it as guest, and I was logged out.

I have to assume that the problem was not related to my previously using Internet Explorer.

H E L P !!!
*****

Guest

Postby Guest » Sun Jan 01, 2006 2:46 pm

That was me Moneo, above.
The same problem happened again on the above post.
*****Moneo*****

User avatar
{Nathan}
Veteran
Posts: 1169
Joined: Thu Aug 19, 2004 6:08 pm
Location: The wetlands of central Ohio, USA
Contact:

Postby {Nathan} » Sun Jan 01, 2006 4:07 pm

I don't know, because I always use FireFox and it never happens to me. I even have used Internet Exploror and that never happens... I wonder what that could be? Spyware? Virus?

Also, Moneo, check to see if you have the latest version.

Help > Check for updates :P
Image


Return to “Pete's QB Site News”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Yahoo [Bot] and 1 guest