download problems

If you have questions about any aspect of QBasic programming, or would like to help fellow programmers solve their problems, check out this board!

Moderators: Pete, Mods

Post Reply
guest

download problems

Post by guest »

when i try to download somethin in one of the download sections, sometimes it just shows the codes. :(
Why is that and how can i try them out if i cant download them?
User avatar
The Walrus
Veteran
Posts: 87
Joined: Fri Apr 01, 2005 7:19 am
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Post by The Walrus »

Try right-clicking and chose "Save destination as...", maybe that'll work.
If swimming is so good for your figure, how do you explain walruses?
Rattrapmax6
Veteran
Posts: 1055
Joined: Sun Jan 02, 2005 2:11 pm
Location: At my computer
Contact:

Post by Rattrapmax6 »

That's because some1 uploaded a .bas file,.. Browsers normaly look for .exe, .zip, .rar, and several others as downloads, but some files are marked as readable, it thinks it sorta like a website:

You can manually download it tho, Just right-click it and hit "Save Target As.." or some browsers use: "Save Link As..",.. You'll get a Save dialog, same as when you save with a editor, just put in where you want it to go, and bingo.. its downloaded... :wink:

Edit: XD... darn.. beatin to it.. :roll:
-Kevin (aka:Rattra)
(x.t.r.GRAPHICS)
MystikShadows
Veteran
Posts: 703
Joined: Sun Nov 14, 2004 7:36 am
Contact:

Post by MystikShadows »

Oh no Ratt...now you're gonna have to bear Nathan1993's old quote that used to say: "If only I'd have gotten here sooner!" LOLOL
When God created light, so too was born, the first Shadow!

MystikShadows

Need hosting? http://www.jc-hosting.net

Interested in Text & ASCII development? Look no further!
http://www.ascii-world.com
Rattrapmax6
Veteran
Posts: 1055
Joined: Sun Jan 02, 2005 2:11 pm
Location: At my computer
Contact:

Post by Rattrapmax6 »

I'm sure I was here first,.. just typed to slow,.. :lol: ...

Anyway... I answered the "Why"... :roll: :wink:
-Kevin (aka:Rattra)
(x.t.r.GRAPHICS)
guest

Post by guest »

hey thanks
but how do people make it not .bas?
User avatar
SebMcClouth
Veteran
Posts: 240
Joined: Fri Apr 29, 2005 2:20 am
Location: Inside the Matrix

Post by SebMcClouth »

e.g. by compiling it into an .exe file or archive the source and/or the executable file.

grtz
Seb
I know why you're here. I know what you've been doing... why you hardly sleep, why you live alone, and why night after night, you sit by your computer...<br>
Unfortunately, no one can be told what Qbinux is. You have to see it for yourself.
Rattrapmax6
Veteran
Posts: 1055
Joined: Sun Jan 02, 2005 2:11 pm
Location: At my computer
Contact:

Post by Rattrapmax6 »

Yeah.. compiling makes a .exe, and QB4.5 and QB/PDS7.1 only do it

,.. but other software stores it like .rar, .zip, ect... You use those for when you download/upload multiple things at once:

.ZIP file { game.exe, game.bas, readme.txt, score.dat, }

:wink:
-Kevin (aka:Rattra)
(x.t.r.GRAPHICS)
guest

Post by guest »

but wat does compiling mean?
can you excplain it in a simpler way?
do i just rename it?
User avatar
{Nathan}
Veteran
Posts: 1169
Joined: Thu Aug 19, 2004 6:08 pm
Location: The wetlands of central Ohio, USA
Contact:

Post by {Nathan} »

OK... compiling means to convert into machine code so the computer can understand what is happening. to compile into a .exe, you must first download qb45 from a variaty of places. I use www.qbnz.com. Then open your program in it (after you unzip it) and goto run > make .exe. Choose stand alone exe and press OK. now look in your folder, there ya go.
Image
guest

Post by guest »

i downloaded qb 4.5 but it don't work
i tried to run qb but it says 'Invalid directory check pif file' or somethin like dat
wat does making something an exe do anyways?
wat i really want to do is to not cause the download problem i said above
does making something exe help?
User avatar
SebMcClouth
Veteran
Posts: 240
Joined: Fri Apr 29, 2005 2:20 am
Location: Inside the Matrix

Post by SebMcClouth »

You have to run QB in pure DOS... in windows I'd advice FreeBasic.

grtz
I know why you're here. I know what you've been doing... why you hardly sleep, why you live alone, and why night after night, you sit by your computer...<br>
Unfortunately, no one can be told what Qbinux is. You have to see it for yourself.
Rattrapmax6
Veteran
Posts: 1055
Joined: Sun Jan 02, 2005 2:11 pm
Location: At my computer
Contact:

Post by Rattrapmax6 »

You can run it on windows thru the DOS-Box, but you need to use the .exe not the shortcut.... Thu, if your on a system other than 95/98, its harder to run it I here....

Yeah... FreeBasic is a real good choice, it can run 99% of all QB's apps that lack: PLAY, DEF SEG, and a few others... And if arrow keys are used, CHR$(0) has to be moved to CHR$(255), but not that it seems you'd know what I was on....

If you want to get into coding basic, then try FB Ide + FBC,.. FBC alone is a dog unless you know a bit on commandline usage...

http://fbide.sourceforge.net/

Then a tut to start off with:
http://members.aol.com/rattrapmax6/tutor/fbtc1.html

And iformation on FB, plus some more tuts, I think...:
http://www.freebasic.net/wiki/wikka.php?wakka=FBWiki
-Kevin (aka:Rattra)
(x.t.r.GRAPHICS)
guest

Post by guest »

so it's not possible to remove the download problem using qbasic?
i don't feel like downloading fb or any others because my whole screen is nearly full and it's running so slow now.
User avatar
The Awakened
Veteran
Posts: 144
Joined: Sun Aug 07, 2005 1:51 am

Post by The Awakened »

Right click on the file you want to download, click Save Target As..., then put it wherever. Then open QB up, click on File...Open, and open the file. Simple.
"Sorry for beating you up with a baseball bat Julian, but I DID think that you were a samsquanch."
... or guest or ????

Post by ... or guest or ???? »

in qb i don't get how to make the arrow keys work
can anyone give me the code?
and tell me if there is an easier way to do graphics than use that data table
Post Reply