Binding

If you have questions about any aspect of QBasic programming, or would like to help fellow programmers solve their problems, check out this board!

Moderators: Pete, Mods

Post Reply
RayBritton
Veteran
Posts: 109
Joined: Thu Feb 10, 2005 12:38 pm

Binding

Post by RayBritton »

Hi,
when i compile my program is says at the status bar like thing in 7.1
Binding
does anyone know what this means

BTW,
recently this site was hit by a worm or something, part of the faq (link on homepage) is still defaced
MystikShadows
Veteran
Posts: 703
Joined: Sun Nov 14, 2004 7:36 am
Contact:

Post by MystikShadows »

Hi Ray,

Binding is the action of taking all the compiled module and merging them one after the other in order as to produce the executable file itself.
When God created light, so too was born, the first Shadow!

MystikShadows

Need hosting? http://www.jc-hosting.net

Interested in Text & ASCII development? Look no further!
http://www.ascii-world.com
RayBritton
Veteran
Posts: 109
Joined: Thu Feb 10, 2005 12:38 pm

Post by RayBritton »

but my program is only made of one obj file and has no subs or function (made by me)
MystikShadows
Veteran
Posts: 703
Joined: Sun Nov 14, 2004 7:36 am
Contact:

Post by MystikShadows »

it still has to bind bcause the exe file has it's header and it's executable part :-)
When God created light, so too was born, the first Shadow!

MystikShadows

Need hosting? http://www.jc-hosting.net

Interested in Text & ASCII development? Look no further!
http://www.ascii-world.com
RayBritton
Veteran
Posts: 109
Joined: Thu Feb 10, 2005 12:38 pm

Post by RayBritton »

ok, it has never done this before, is it always going to
MystikShadows
Veteran
Posts: 703
Joined: Sun Nov 14, 2004 7:36 am
Contact:

Post by MystikShadows »

Never before? Hmmmm....I always thought binding was part of the compilation process...I take it there's not hcance you might have just never noticed it before? :-).

It always did in my case. Sometimes though the binding process is fast passed and if you blink you won't see it show you.
When God created light, so too was born, the first Shadow!

MystikShadows

Need hosting? http://www.jc-hosting.net

Interested in Text & ASCII development? Look no further!
http://www.ascii-world.com
Antoni
Veteran
Posts: 132
Joined: Wed Jun 15, 2005 3:01 pm
Contact:

Post by Antoni »

Binding is always here, but it's hardly noticed. Perhaps your program is starting to grow big? Or are you running something else in the bacground you did'nt run before?
RayBritton
Veteran
Posts: 109
Joined: Thu Feb 10, 2005 12:38 pm

Post by RayBritton »

well i probably never noticed before, but this isn't the largest program i've made, i can now see it because qb freezes while its binding.
User avatar
hezoe
Coder
Posts: 20
Joined: Sat Jun 04, 2005 6:29 am
Location: Tasmania, Australia
Contact:

Post by hezoe »

Binding is what programming languages like WXBasic and RapidQ do to create executables for programs. With binding, when the code is compiled it is not converted to bytecode like QB, it is simply merged with a copy of the interpreter in a new file. When that new file is opened it runs the code with the interpreter.
Macric
Coder
Posts: 34
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2005 11:11 pm
Location: Mexico

Post by Macric »

i think i know what's your problem, enter here
http://qbnz.com/dav/qbkb/ and write
Binding
(it's case sensitive)
Post Reply