screens and screens and switching, oh no!

If you have questions about any aspect of QBasic programming, or would like to help fellow programmers solve their problems, check out this board!

Moderators: Pete, Mods

Post Reply
Agent_Firestalker
Coder
Posts: 18
Joined: Fri Feb 11, 2005 11:51 am
Location: Lea Monde Ruins

screens and screens and switching, oh no!

Post by Agent_Firestalker » Fri Mar 18, 2005 2:47 pm

I started a text-based game in screen 13. After the main menu, character creation and mission selection, i use screen 0 (text) for the game report screen. But when the game tries to switch from 13 to 0 it doesn't display right and it won't find column 64. If i run my program to test the display of my report only (screen 0 all time) it works, of course. Why is it, when i switch from 13 to 0 does it give me a small 40 column or so screen, with big text.

Also, on a side note, i've seen people making games with SNES-quality graphics, but none of the screens can produce this result (as far as i've seen.) Is there really a way to make your own resolution of screen?

Thanx
Agent_Firestalker

User avatar
lurah-
Veteran
Posts: 206
Joined: Mon Nov 01, 2004 10:47 am
Location: Finland
Contact:

Post by lurah- » Fri Mar 18, 2005 5:49 pm

Screen 0 : Width 80, 50 ' you have this?

Sorry my bad English, but it would help a lot if you could give even a some piece of your code :wink:

User avatar
Mitth'raw'nuruodo
Veteran
Posts: 839
Joined: Sat Jan 22, 2005 11:04 am
Location: Eastern Coast of US
Contact:

Post by Mitth'raw'nuruodo » Sun Mar 20, 2005 9:45 am

Yes, the dog's right.

It switches the width with the SCREEN statement. Sometimes it doesn't change back so to change back to text:

SCREEN 0: WIDTH 80

That's all.

I believe it said to do this in the HELP file cause this is exactly what happens.

(You don't need the 50)

As for the SNES....Ummm....I don't know.
"But...It was so beutifully done"

Agent_Firestalker
Coder
Posts: 18
Joined: Fri Feb 11, 2005 11:51 am
Location: Lea Monde Ruins

(slaps head)

Post by Agent_Firestalker » Tue Mar 22, 2005 10:30 pm

I knew about the width statement, i guess it just never came to me. I'll probably spend the rest of the night reading the index of commands to refresh myself.

Agent_Firestalker
"I ask you, is this a job for intelligent men?"
"Well show me one, i'll ask him?"

Val and Earl - "Tremors"

User avatar
Mitth'raw'nuruodo
Veteran
Posts: 839
Joined: Sat Jan 22, 2005 11:04 am
Location: Eastern Coast of US
Contact:

Post by Mitth'raw'nuruodo » Thu Mar 24, 2005 8:36 am

Heh, good luck :D
"But...It was so beutifully done"

User avatar
Rattrapmax6
Veteran
Posts: 1055
Joined: Sun Jan 02, 2005 2:11 pm
Location: At my computer
Contact:

Post by Rattrapmax6 » Thu Mar 24, 2005 3:47 pm

I've seen those SNES styles, and they use the stuff made with PP256 to get that quality.. Really with patience you can get this,. I mean, I've seen some stuff up into the PSX quality... look at Mono&Disco by relsoft, it gets up there.. :wink:

And if your interested, FB gets up there into PS2 quality... :D

800x600 with RGB funtions!

SCREEN 19, 32, 2, 1

^^ FB only, it also can reach 1280x1024, but not many can use that screen... :wink:
-Kevin (aka:Rattra)
(x.t.r.GRAPHICS)

User avatar
Rattrapmax6
Veteran
Posts: 1055
Joined: Sun Jan 02, 2005 2:11 pm
Location: At my computer
Contact:

Post by Rattrapmax6 » Thu Mar 24, 2005 3:56 pm

PS: You can get a 80x25 text revolution in SCREEN 13 QB by switching to screen 19 and then back... why I don't know, it did this to me once.. :wink:

EDIT: Thats SCREEN 13 to 9 Then back to 13, forget that 19,. heh heh..
(Didn't back out since it has been commented on, to remove confusion :wink: )
Last edited by Rattrapmax6 on Thu Mar 24, 2005 4:23 pm, edited 1 time in total.
-Kevin (aka:Rattra)
(x.t.r.GRAPHICS)

User avatar
Mitth'raw'nuruodo
Veteran
Posts: 839
Joined: Sat Jan 22, 2005 11:04 am
Location: Eastern Coast of US
Contact:

Post by Mitth'raw'nuruodo » Thu Mar 24, 2005 4:02 pm

Rattra wrote:And if your interested, FB gets up there into PS2 quality...
That's not saying much for FB.... :lol:

Note: there is no SCREEN 19 in QB, mabey FB but you said QB....
"But...It was so beutifully done"

User avatar
Rattrapmax6
Veteran
Posts: 1055
Joined: Sun Jan 02, 2005 2:11 pm
Location: At my computer
Contact:

Post by Rattrapmax6 » Thu Mar 24, 2005 4:21 pm

Mitth'raw'nuruodo wrote:
Rattra wrote:And if your interested, FB gets up there into PS2 quality...
That's not saying much for FB.... :lol:

Note: there is no SCREEN 19 in QB, mabey FB but you said QB....
Eh, have you played GT3 & GT4!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! HAVE YOU?!?!?! :shock:

The cars look real, as if I could touch 'em!!!!!!

Sorry, I ment SCREEN 9 for QB, you switch to that, then back to 13, it gives you 80x20 text were WIDTH won't??? eh, oh well.. :wink:
-Kevin (aka:Rattra)
(x.t.r.GRAPHICS)

User avatar
Mitth'raw'nuruodo
Veteran
Posts: 839
Joined: Sat Jan 22, 2005 11:04 am
Location: Eastern Coast of US
Contact:

Post by Mitth'raw'nuruodo » Thu Mar 24, 2005 4:25 pm

What's the exact code you did, cause it stayed at 40 for me.
"But...It was so beutifully done"

User avatar
Rattrapmax6
Veteran
Posts: 1055
Joined: Sun Jan 02, 2005 2:11 pm
Location: At my computer
Contact:

Post by Rattrapmax6 » Thu Mar 24, 2005 5:06 pm

:) Nevermind that,. I was switching SUBs, then came back to a SUB with END SUB, it was just skiping the SCREEN 13 comand making it look like it stayed the same width as 9, oh well... :wink: sorry
-Kevin (aka:Rattra)
(x.t.r.GRAPHICS)

User avatar
Mitth'raw'nuruodo
Veteran
Posts: 839
Joined: Sat Jan 22, 2005 11:04 am
Location: Eastern Coast of US
Contact:

Post by Mitth'raw'nuruodo » Thu Mar 24, 2005 10:34 pm

oh, thx, real nice.... :P

jk lol :lol:

*sigh* Looking at a tree and can't see the forest, eh? :wink:
"But...It was so beutifully done"

MystikShadows
Veteran
Posts: 703
Joined: Sun Nov 14, 2004 7:36 am
Contact:

Post by MystikShadows » Fri Mar 25, 2005 5:27 am

Me I'm just waiting for Nathan1993 to come on in and say "if only I'd have been here sooner!" LOL j/k Nathan ;-)
When God created light, so too was born, the first Shadow!

MystikShadows

Need hosting? http://www.jc-hosting.net

Interested in Text & ASCII development? Look no further!
http://www.ascii-world.com

Post Reply