qbasic in windows 7

If you have questions about any aspect of QBasic programming, or would like to help fellow programmers solve their problems, check out this board!

Moderators: Pete, Mods

Post Reply
johnfin
Coder
Posts: 18
Joined: Tue Apr 01, 2008 8:26 am

qbasic in windows 7

Post by johnfin » Fri Feb 28, 2014 1:27 pm

I wrote some programs under xp, compiled them and they worked pretty good. One program was a file manager and created directories and files via a shell. Well in 7 there is no shell and the program wont run. Can I run my older programs in 7?

User avatar
burger2227
Veteran
Posts: 2313
Joined: Mon Aug 21, 2006 12:40 am
Location: Pittsburgh, PA

Re: qbasic in windows 7

Post by burger2227 » Sat Mar 01, 2014 9:37 am

I'm not aware of any SHELL problems in Windows 7 when using QB. If you are you running QB in 7, you need to create shortcuts on the desktop in 32 bit versions only. 64 bit does not have NTVDM.

What commands are not working in your program? Try them in QB64.
Please acknowledge and thank members who answer your questions!
QB64 is a FREE QBasic compiler for WIN, MAC(OSX) and LINUX : https://www.qb64.org/forum/index.php
Get my Q-Basics demonstrator: https://www.dropbox.com/s/fdmgp91d6h8ps ... s.zip?dl=0

User avatar
bongomeno
Veteran
Posts: 231
Joined: Wed Dec 10, 2008 9:08 am
Location: San Bernardino CA
Contact:

Re: qbasic in windows 7

Post by bongomeno » Sat Apr 05, 2014 2:54 pm

Also remember that win7 has a different directory structure than winxp. Text based programs should run fine.
Home: http://www.geekbasic.com" target="_blank
Forum: http://www.geekbasic.com/index.gbws?$page=forumsmain" target="_blank
QB64 powered web server: http://www.geekbasic.com/index.gbws?$pa ... inter=%201" target="_blank

Post Reply