IDE module error - solved

If you have questions about any aspect of QBasic programming, or would like to help fellow programmers solve their problems, check out this board!

Moderators: Pete, Mods

Post Reply
nmh
Newbie
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Jan 17, 2013 10:29 am
Location: Munich, Germany

IDE module error - solved

Post by nmh » Thu Jan 17, 2013 10:47 am

Hi all,

several users of QB64 report (also in this forum) that all they see is the error messager "IDE module error" after starting QB64. Unfortunately none of the QB64 experts was able to help. :?

Here is the solution I just found out (I am using Windows 7 Professional 64 Bit Service Pack 1):

If you unzip QB64 in C:/programme/... (mine is a German Windows), you get this error message "IDE module error". To avoid the error message, simply unzip and run QB64 in a different folder, for example in C:/QB.

The reason for the error message might be that admin-rights appear to be required for access to C:/programme (I can only guess). But QB seems to run just fine if you chose a different folder.

All my important self-written software runs under QBASIC (DOS 6.22 or Windows XP); thousand thanks to the creators of QB64 for giving me the possibility to survive even under Win7. :P

Best regards from a heavily snow-covered Munich (Germany)
Nikolaus Heusler

User avatar
burger2227
Veteran
Posts: 2220
Joined: Mon Aug 21, 2006 12:40 am
Location: Pittsburgh, PA

Post by burger2227 » Wed Feb 06, 2013 10:27 am

Problem is that you should not have to do that. Not that it cannot be fixed.
Please acknowledge and thank members who answer your questions!
QB64 is a FREE QBasic compiler for WIN, MAC(OSX) and LINUX : https://www.qb64.org/forum/index.php
Get my Q-Basics demonstrator: https://www.dropbox.com/s/fdmgp91d6h8ps ... s.zip?dl=0

Rwombat
Newbie
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Apr 10, 2013 10:46 pm

Post by Rwombat » Wed Apr 10, 2013 11:00 pm

nmh you are a wonderful man!
Shifting all files to a new QB64 directory that is itself in the root directory worked for me. I had searched and searched for a solution and yours was the only one I found that worked.

With regard to the comment "problem is that you should not have done that" For anyone to put that position, the challenge is to provide a better solution.

Rwombat

bdubbu
Newbie
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Feb 09, 2015 5:49 pm

Re: IDE module error - solved

Post by bdubbu » Mon Feb 09, 2015 5:54 pm

You can right click on the qb64.exe file and then click "Run as Administrator" if your program files are located in the Program Files directory.

Post Reply