QLB - QuickLibrary

If you have questions about any aspect of QBasic programming, or would like to help fellow programmers solve their problems, check out this board!

Moderators: Pete, Mods

Post Reply
Theunis
Coder
Posts: 21
Joined: Sun Oct 17, 2010 5:41 am

QLB - QuickLibrary

Post by Theunis »

The QB manual states that a QLB can be made using an OBJ file written in Microsoft Pascal, C, Fortran, MASM etc.
Does anyone know if a 32 bit OBJ can be linked to a QuickLibrary.
OPRESION
Veteran
Posts: 61
Joined: Tue Jan 16, 2007 4:15 am
Location: Mexico

Post by OPRESION »

NOT TO MY KNOWLEDGE. MAYBE USING THE FREEBASIC:

http://www.freebasic.net/forum/viewforum.php?f=1
Last edited by OPRESION on Sun Dec 05, 2010 5:08 am, edited 1 time in total.
MY PAGE: http://Qbasic.phatcode.net" target="_blank
(I ONLY USE WINDOWS 98SE YET, BELIEVE IT OR NOT)
Theunis
Coder
Posts: 21
Joined: Sun Oct 17, 2010 5:41 am

QLB library : linking 32 and 16 bit OBJ modules.

Post by Theunis »

Thanks Opression.
I have tried FBC but find that I must change too much in my programs for them to run using -lang QB or -lang fblite. -lang FB is virtually a totally different language to learn and does not have the ease and simplicity of QB4.5. As such it is closer to Pascal then BASIC. It also does not solve my problem with the no Screen 7 and tiny Screen 13 on the newer Nvidia cards.
At present I use DOSBOX 0.74 to get around the Screen problems.

I was actually a bit dim I am going to try it in any case to see what happens. I presume the Qb manual refers to 16 bit when it comes to the using of other languages to write a QLB.
User avatar
burger2227
Veteran
Posts: 2466
Joined: Mon Aug 21, 2006 12:40 am
Location: Pittsburgh, PA

Post by burger2227 »

It doesn't have a way to use other languages yet or use the QLB Library, but QB64 can compile and run QB4.5 programs. To get around the smaller SCREEN 13 or 7 use _FULLSCREEN at the start of the program.

Libraries can be made using QB code too.

http://www.qb64.net/forum/index.php

Keywords: http://qb64.net/wiki/index.php?title=Ke ... phabetical

However DLL and SDL Libraries will soon be supported.

Ted
Please acknowledge and thank members who answer your questions!
QB64 is a FREE QBasic compiler for WIN, MAC(OSX) and LINUX : https://www.qb64.org/forum/index.php
Get my Q-Basics demonstrator: https://www.dropbox.com/s/fdmgp91d6h8ps ... s.zip?dl=0
User avatar
ThirtyNitesOfMX
Coder
Posts: 18
Joined: Sun Nov 28, 2010 6:58 pm
Location: seattle, wa

Post by ThirtyNitesOfMX »

beware of using _fullscreen. there are 2 different fullscreen settings, one of them works nice when running on a monitor but it doesnt work on a tv.. i have to use the 2nd fullscreen mode for tv.
User avatar
burger2227
Veteran
Posts: 2466
Joined: Mon Aug 21, 2006 12:40 am
Location: Pittsburgh, PA

Post by burger2227 »

You mean

_FULLSCREEN _SQUAREPIXELS

You can designate that or allow _FULLSCREEN to set it. On a TV you may have to set it manually as it is not part of the PC.

The function can return the current setting to a program:

mode% = _FULLSCREEN

will return:

0 = _OFF (any positive non-0 value means fullscreen is on)
1 = _STRETCH
2 = _SQUAREPIXELS

QB64 was updated for DLL and Libraries today!

Ted
Please acknowledge and thank members who answer your questions!
QB64 is a FREE QBasic compiler for WIN, MAC(OSX) and LINUX : https://www.qb64.org/forum/index.php
Get my Q-Basics demonstrator: https://www.dropbox.com/s/fdmgp91d6h8ps ... s.zip?dl=0
OPRESION
Veteran
Posts: 61
Joined: Tue Jan 16, 2007 4:15 am
Location: Mexico

QLB LIBRARY: LINKING 32 AND 16 BIT OBJ MODULES.

Post by OPRESION »

Theunis wrote:... FB is virtually a totally different language...
YES, I THINK YOU ARE USING THE FBWINDOWS THAT TREATS THE DOS
LITTERALLY USING KARATE KICKS. 'EXPERTS' MADE IT THAT WAY.
DOWNLOAD THE DOS VERSION _HERE_.
YOU CAN COMPILE BY COMMANDLINE.

I THINK YOU WILL NEED TO COMPILE THE WHOLE PROGRAM IN FBDOS BUT
THERE ARE FEW CORRECTIONS TO MAKE. FOR EXAMPLE,

DOING THIS: SHELL "DIR/O"
MUST BE: SHELL "DIR /O"

THERE IS NO 'SOUND' COMMAND, ETCETERA.
IT PRODUCES THE OBJ FILE THIS WAY:

FBC.EXE -c XXX.BAS
READ IT HERE

THE -c MUST BE LOWERCASED.
YOU WILL SEE THE 'XXX.O' FILE THAT IS THE 'XXX.OBJ' FILE.
MY PAGE: http://Qbasic.phatcode.net" target="_blank
(I ONLY USE WINDOWS 98SE YET, BELIEVE IT OR NOT)
Theunis
Coder
Posts: 21
Joined: Sun Oct 17, 2010 5:41 am

Post by Theunis »

Thank Ted and OPPRESSION for the info.
Post Reply