need help desperately

If you have questions about any aspect of QBasic programming, or would like to help fellow programmers solve their problems, check out this board!

Moderators: Pete, Mods

supersoldier1

need help desperately

Post by supersoldier1 »

hey guys.
I'm new to the qbasic thing, and was looking for some help with some stuff on screen 13. i've just started so pls feel free 2 help me....seriously
supersoldier1

Post by supersoldier1 »

for example, i need helping moving an image that i made in screen 13. i jus want it to go upwards, but it doesnt, and when it finally moves a bit, all the colors mess up. help pls.
Kiyotewolf
Veteran

scrolling up

Post by Kiyotewolf »

SCREEN 13

CLS

CIRCLE (30, 30), 15, 15

FOR Z = 0 TO 199
DEF SEG = &HA000
BSAVE "C:\IMG.SD", 320, 63999 - 320
BLOAD "C:\IMG.SD", 0
T! = TIMER: WHILE TIMER - T! < .1: WEND
NEXT Z
Banana phone! We need more lemon pledge. * exploding fist of iced tea! * I see your psycho cat and counter with a duck that has a broken leg, in a cast.
burger2227
Veteran

WHAT the heck?

Post by burger2227 »

Screen 13 can GET most of the screen. Why would you need to BSAVE and BLOAD an image? That is just plain silly and will not move the image easily! If you BSAVE the ENTIRE screen buffer, it will NEVER move!

Just GET the box area where the original graphic is and PUT it at another position. To erase the old image use a black filled box using the previous position coordinates. Then PUT it over and over at new positions erasing with a black box of same size. CLS may cause a blinking screen.

GET requires an array of around 26K elements so use DEFINT A-Z.

Ted
supersoldier1

Post by supersoldier1 »

thx for the help :D
Kiyotewolf
Veteran

frame buffer

Post by Kiyotewolf »

Do you realize that using an array in the conventional memory is suicide? Once you allocate all that memory space you drop what's available for your program which also resides in conventional memory and risk a "OUT OF MEMORY " BSOD error..