Compiler problem with QuickBasic 7.10

If you have questions about any aspect of QBasic programming, or would like to help fellow programmers solve their problems, check out this board!

Moderators: Pete, Mods

Post Reply
User avatar
Andrew Dance
Coder
Posts: 18
Joined: Mon Dec 17, 2007 8:41 pm
Contact:

Compiler problem with QuickBasic 7.10

Post by Andrew Dance » Wed Dec 19, 2007 10:40 pm

it keeps asking for the definitions file and that it cannot locate QB .exe
uhh....help please? im totally lost.

:?

User avatar
Nodtveidt
Veteran
Posts: 826
Joined: Sun Jul 25, 2004 4:24 am
Location: Quebradillas, PR
Contact:

Post by Nodtveidt » Wed Dec 19, 2007 11:29 pm

Don't use QB 7.1 unless you have a specific reason for doing so. Stick with QB 4.5, it tends to produce smaller executables anyways.

User avatar
Codemss
Veteran
Posts: 124
Joined: Sun Jun 24, 2007 6:49 am
Location: Utrecht, The Netherlands
Contact:

Post by Codemss » Thu Dec 20, 2007 10:07 am

Use qb 4.5 when you can. It is faster and, like Nodtveidt said, it produces smaller .exe's (I didn't know this though :P). But, qb 7.1 has a few more options. I needed it once because it has a command to show you all files in a map or something like that. If you have to use qb 7.1, you can download it here:
http://members.lycos.nl/rubynl/qb71.zip
(it works on my computer)
Check out my site: <a href="http://members.lycos.nl/rubynl">Click here</a>
Hope you like it. Send some feedback if you want: <a href="mailto:basicallybest@live.nl">Mail me</a>
Codemss, before known as RubyNL

User avatar
Andrew Dance
Coder
Posts: 18
Joined: Mon Dec 17, 2007 8:41 pm
Contact:

Post by Andrew Dance » Thu Dec 20, 2007 10:12 am

thanks guys. i DL'd it and its working perfectly :P thanks a million again ^^

OPRESION
Veteran
Posts: 61
Joined: Tue Jan 16, 2007 4:15 am
Location: Mexico

Post by OPRESION » Fri Dec 21, 2007 12:41 am

Nodtveidt wrote:...Stick with QB 4.5, it tends to produce smaller executables anyways.
To make smaller and faster executables in the PDS could be used the option /G2, that produces code in the executables for computers 286.
Last edited by OPRESION on Fri Dec 21, 2007 1:11 am, edited 1 time in total.
MY PAGE: http://Qbasic.phatcode.net" target="_blank
(I ONLY USE WINDOWS 98SE YET, BELIEVE IT OR NOT)

OPRESION
Veteran
Posts: 61
Joined: Tue Jan 16, 2007 4:15 am
Location: Mexico

Re: Compiler problem with QuickBasic 7.10

Post by OPRESION » Fri Dec 21, 2007 1:04 am

Andrew Dance wrote:...it cannot locate QB.exe
I think you mean that it's trying to find the BC.exe, that is, the Basic Compiler, not the QB.exe, to make the executable.

If you are compiling from the editor, you need to tell the PATH touching 'Options' and 'Set Paths...', that way the editor it won't ask you again.
Andrew Dance wrote:...it keeps asking for the definitions file...
When the PDS it's asking the definitions file it means that you are trying to make an executable for the Windows or for the OS/2 using the option /LP that it means 'Link to Protected Mode'.

When you compile just click to change that option to /LR, that it means 'Link to Real Mode', you will need to do that only once.
MY PAGE: http://Qbasic.phatcode.net" target="_blank
(I ONLY USE WINDOWS 98SE YET, BELIEVE IT OR NOT)

Post Reply