Page 1 of 1

Compile mutiple modules

Posted: Fri Aug 18, 2006 12:18 pm
by Seb McClouth
Can someone please explain one more time how to compile multiple modules, from the dos-prompt?
Seems to go wrong with my stuff. Some clean stuff might be refreshing.


thx

Posted: Sat Aug 19, 2006 6:58 pm
by {Nathan}
'$include.

Whenever I need to compile multiple modules I include them. When the compiler stumbles upon an include in foo.bas, it stops compiling foo.bas and begins compiling foo.bi. When it is done with foo.bi, it goes back to compiling foo.bas.

I am 90% sure that is how they do it in QB, as they do it in FB too. As far as the command line goes, I honestly have no idea :?

Re: Compile mutiple modules

Posted: Sun Aug 20, 2006 8:54 pm
by RyanKelly
Seb McClouth wrote:Can someone please explain one more time how to compile multiple modules, from the dos-prompt?
Seems to go wrong with my stuff. Some clean stuff might be refreshing.


thx
If you can compile a single module then compiling multiple modules shouldn't be much trouble. Compile each source to generate and OBJ file, then link them all with the appropriate run time library.

What is it that goes "wrong"?

The most common difficulty with multiple modules is the use of global variables (look up "common").

Posted: Mon Aug 21, 2006 12:25 pm
by Seb McClouth
I was just wondering if someone could show me a 'good way'.

Posted: Tue Aug 22, 2006 12:33 pm
by {Nathan}
I just remembered that Na_th_an wrote a tutorial about something like this a while back in QB:XP. You could go look at that.