Reading DOS Help files

If you have questions about any aspect of QBasic programming, or would like to help fellow programmers solve their problems, check out this board!

Moderators: Pete, Mods

Post Reply
benjiboy
Coder
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Dec 14, 2005 2:18 am
Location: Norfolk, England

Reading DOS Help files

Post by benjiboy » Sat Dec 17, 2005 10:22 am

Folks, I'm trying to read the various help files that come with QB 7.1. I've tried under Win2000 pro and get told they are DOS help files. I've trie it under cmd in Win2000 and get the same result :x . I've trie it under Win 3.11 and get told they're DOS help files :evil: and I've tried it under DOS 6.2 and cannot open them :roll:
Any suggestions?
Benjiboy

+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+
Be who you are, not who others say you should be.
+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+

MystikShadows
Veteran
Posts: 703
Joined: Sun Nov 14, 2004 7:36 am
Contact:

Post by MystikShadows » Sat Dec 17, 2005 10:38 am

Open the PDS and go to the help menu there :-)..
When God created light, so too was born, the first Shadow!

MystikShadows

Need hosting? http://www.jc-hosting.net

Interested in Text & ASCII development? Look no further!
http://www.ascii-world.com

User avatar
{Nathan}
Veteran
Posts: 1169
Joined: Thu Aug 19, 2004 6:08 pm
Location: The wetlands of central Ohio, USA
Contact:

Post by {Nathan} » Sat Dec 17, 2005 10:54 am

And, if you don't have PDS then you can get it at www.qbnz.com
Image

Macric
Coder
Posts: 34
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2005 11:11 pm
Location: Mexico

Reading DOS Help files

Post by Macric » Sun Dec 18, 2005 2:31 am

i have swum in those waters. make the directory c:\qh, copy to that directory qh.exe and the .hlp files, run qh.exe. if you have more doubts just question again. have the best luck for you.

Antoni
Veteran
Posts: 132
Joined: Wed Jun 15, 2005 3:01 pm
Contact:

Post by Antoni » Sun Dec 18, 2005 11:14 am

Macric: I have found qh.exe in the PDS 7.1 package. When i try to run it my W2000 says it is a noncompatible os/2 app, and hints me to try to run it with forecedos. So I forcedos qh.exe and it complains about not enough memory available.
If I forcedos mem it reports 576000 bytes ,4 Meg EMS and 16 Meg XMS. It seems it's not enough.
Have you had the same problem?

User avatar
{Nathan}
Veteran
Posts: 1169
Joined: Thu Aug 19, 2004 6:08 pm
Location: The wetlands of central Ohio, USA
Contact:

Post by {Nathan} » Sun Dec 18, 2005 1:16 pm

Boot from a WIN98 startup disk and run it in there :lol:
Image

Antoni
Veteran
Posts: 132
Joined: Wed Jun 15, 2005 3:01 pm
Contact:

Post by Antoni » Sun Dec 18, 2005 1:50 pm

We could do our reader. Does anyone know of any specs on line?

Macric
Coder
Posts: 34
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2005 11:11 pm
Location: Mexico

Post by Macric » Mon Dec 19, 2005 5:03 am

Antoni wrote:When i try to run it my W2000 says it is a noncompatible os/2 app
the PDS can also work with OS/2, so the Qh.exe could be a program that can run for both, OS/2 or DOS.
Antoni wrote:If I forcedos mem it reports 576000 bytes ,4 Meg EMS and 16 Meg XMS. It seems it's not enough. Have you had the same problem?
no, i use windows98se, i am sure it's a problem with windows 2OOO.
Last edited by Macric on Fri Jun 23, 2006 7:10 am, edited 1 time in total.

Macric
Coder
Posts: 34
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2005 11:11 pm
Location: Mexico

Post by Macric » Mon Dec 19, 2005 5:08 am

Antoni wrote:We could do our reader. Does anyone know of any specs on line?
the Qh.exe (QuickHelp) it's the viewer from Microsoft for the Ms-Dos Help files format.

benjiboy
Coder
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Dec 14, 2005 2:18 am
Location: Norfolk, England

Post by benjiboy » Mon Dec 19, 2005 8:03 am

Thanks all.
I have tried all the advice given, have got a new copy of the PDS, have set up a help directory with QH.exe in it and the help files. :D
All to no avail. :x
The PDS setup fails under Win2000 when it tries to create the link libraries.
As per the other correspondent, QH generates an 'invalid DOS program' message.
So, now I'm going to try installing it all on my old 20mhz 286 Olivetti laptop and see if I can't get it to work there.
I no longer have any Win98 machines, and those running XP all seem to have developed unrecoverable OS problems. Maybe I'll rebuild a machine just to have Win98 back... :?
Benjiboy

+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+
Be who you are, not who others say you should be.
+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+

User avatar
{Nathan}
Veteran
Posts: 1169
Joined: Thu Aug 19, 2004 6:08 pm
Location: The wetlands of central Ohio, USA
Contact:

Post by {Nathan} » Mon Dec 19, 2005 3:47 pm

Wait... arn't you just trying to run PDS? Then you just run qbx.exe if I can remember correctly... then open the help in there...

Or just open it in notepad...
Image

Macric
Coder
Posts: 34
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2005 11:11 pm
Location: Mexico

Post by Macric » Thu Dec 22, 2005 11:50 pm

benjiboy wrote:I have tried all the advice given, have got a new copy of the PDS, have set up a help directory with QH.exe in it and the help files.
All to no avail. The PDS setup fails under Win2000 when it tries to create the link libraries. As per the other correspondent, QH generates an 'invalid DOS program' message.
most of the PDS downloads just need to be unzipped, i never use the Setup.
the .hlp files that can be read in the PDS editor are similar to the QB4.5 .hlp files plus enhancements.

the PDS editor only uses four .hlp files,
Bas7advr.hlp, Bas7ener.hlp, Bas7ex.hlp, Bas7qck.hlp

the another eight .hlp files in the Help subdirectory only can be read using the Qh.exe.
the Quickhelp has a bug, when it is run only looks for .hlp files in the directories,
C:\QH
C:\DPath
C:\Path
C:\BookShelf (this is for OS/2)
i use windows98se and i never have had any problem.
Last edited by Macric on Fri Jun 23, 2006 7:05 am, edited 1 time in total.

bearded_oneder
Newbie
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Jun 22, 2006 11:18 pm

Reading Qbasic Help Files - Installation Woes

Post by bearded_oneder » Thu Jun 22, 2006 11:34 pm

Quick Help will really have to be run in a true DOS environment with plenty of conventional memory available.

Reading DOS help files is a no brainer. Download the DOS tools from the provided MS ftp URL, unzip them in their own 8.3 named directory. You'll find a program HELP.COM which reads DOS help files from the command line. However ... it does NOT read QUICK BASIC help files, because these have a special header for the QH program which is called from within Quick Basic.
ftp://ftp.microsoft.com/Softlib/MSLFILES/OLDDOS.EXE

As for installing Quick Basic on an XP/2000 OS. Two options:
1. Setup a Dual Boot DOS or Windows 98 partition (my choice). Install from FLOPPY DISKS. Can not install from the hard drive. Then reboot to Windows 2000/XP and Quick Basic will now run, or
2. Download a copy that someone else had installed and zipped for you. Unzip it to an 8.3 named directory, then in the Quick Basic IDE @ Options --> Set Paths, change the paths to match the 8.3 directory

Macric
Coder
Posts: 34
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2005 11:11 pm
Location: Mexico

Post by Macric » Fri Jun 23, 2006 7:14 am

Macric wrote:
Antoni wrote:When i try to run it my W2000 says it is a noncompatible os/2 app
the PDS can also work with OS/2, so the Qh.exe could be a program that can run for both, OS/2 or DOS.
today i can be sure that Quickhelp it's made for running in OS/2 and Ms-Dos, i read it in an article of the KB, it's called a Bound program.

User avatar
rdc
Coder
Posts: 22
Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2006 9:23 am
Location: Texas, USA
Contact:

Post by rdc » Fri Jun 23, 2006 8:32 am

I can run QBX on my Win2K Pro machine with no problems at all. Everything works just fine.

If you can't get it to work, you might want to try DosBox.
Really Dysfunctional Coder

MystikShadows
Veteran
Posts: 703
Joined: Sun Nov 14, 2004 7:36 am
Contact:

Post by MystikShadows » Fri Jun 23, 2006 10:11 am

yeah PDS runs fine for me here....windows XP SP2
When God created light, so too was born, the first Shadow!

MystikShadows

Need hosting? http://www.jc-hosting.net

Interested in Text & ASCII development? Look no further!
http://www.ascii-world.com

nkk_kan
Veteran
Posts: 57
Joined: Thu Jun 01, 2006 10:45 am
Location: Gujrat,India,Asia
Contact:

Post by nkk_kan » Sun Jun 25, 2006 8:43 am

Well
why don't u rename it as qb4.5 's help file
and try to open it from qb 4.5???

i am not sure it works....but just try it....:D

Fumador
Coder
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Mar 08, 2006 4:03 pm
Location: Mexico

Post by Fumador » Sat Jul 29, 2006 11:40 pm

if someone of you are interested here it is a tip about the Quickhelp;
The CodePost

Post Reply